Skip to content
Juratkit
Menu

Notary signing agent courses and loan signing training, compared

For a commissioned notary choosing a notary signing agent course: four providers read against what the companies that hire signing agents ask for, which is an exam and a background screening more than a course. What each includes, what it leaves to you, and where remote online notarization fits; course fees and star ratings are left out on purpose. The rest of the business side of a commission is gathered under running a remote notary business.

Course pages last checked

Best if the services you want ask for screening

The one package here with an exam on the industry workgroup's Code of Conduct and a background screening built to its standard, and a directory listing once both are done.

National Notary Association

Best if you want a mentor before your first signing

Graduates get a one-on-one mentor call before a signing and a mentoring phone line for three months after the course.

Notary2Pro

Best for a short first course

More than four hours on a signing agent's duties, with an exam for its own designation once you hold a commission.

American Society of Notaries

Art Deco illustration of an open training binder and a fanned loan package with a fountain penFig. 1
A loan package is learned page by page; the course is only the first of the credentials a hiring company checks.

What a signing agent certification asks of you

The signing agent credentials compared here are private ones, issued by course providers, so “certified” means whatever the company hiring you accepts. The closest thing to a shared bar is the Signing Professionals Workgroup, an industry workgroup of the National Notary Association whose members include mortgage lenders, title companies and signing services. Its standards ask things of you, not of a course, and two of them come back every year.

What the Signing Professionals Workgroup standards ask of a signing agent
StandardWhat it asks of youHow often, and who
ExaminationPass a 30 question exam with a score of 80%, on sound signing practice and the SPW Code of Conduct.Every year. A lender, a contracting company or an education provider may give it; a course is not required.
Background screeningPass a screening scored against a list of offenses and searched against named federal and international lists.Every year, because a signing agent enters homes and handles borrowers' financial records.
Errors and omissions insuranceShow proof of a notary E&O policy of $25,000.Held while you take signings; it is not your notary bond.
Code of Conduct and signing scriptFollow the workgroup's conduct standard and its standardized signing presentation.On every signing; the SPW exam covers the Code of Conduct.

Read that way, a course is preparation and the credential is the exam plus the screening. Only one of the four courses below puts both in the same package and says it follows these standards. The E&O row is the one no course sells you; the insurers are compared in notary E&O insurance for remote notaries.

Loan signing agent training, side by side

The columns are what a hiring company or your own plan will ask of the course, not what the course advertises. Read a check as “the provider says so on its own page”, a dash as silence on every page we read, and “check with the vendor” as a page that hints without settling it.

Four signing agent courses, read from their own pages on 2026-10-25.
Course providerExamScreeningSPW standardsMentorHiring listRON trainingRenewal terms
National Notary AssociationMeetsMeetsMeetsNot statedMeetscheck with the vendorMeets
Loan Signing SystemNot statedNot statedNot statedMeetsMeetscheck with the vendorNot stated
Notary2Procheck with the vendorNot statedNot statedMeetsMeetscheck with the vendorMeets
American Society of NotariesMeetsNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedcheck with the vendorNot stated

Each course, read

Two of the four are associations of notaries and two are independent course businesses; the two businesses lean on coaching and hiring lists, the associations on an exam.

National Notary Association

NSA Certification (Basic and Complete packages)

A notary association's signing agent package: an online training course, a certification exam and a background screening.

A new signing agent whose title companies or signing services ask for a screened, certified agent.

Length and format
Online course in five lessons (the agent's role, landing the assignment, preparing the loan package, conducting the signing, wrapping up); 9-month access.
Commission first?
The package pages we read do not say.
An exam you pass to earn the credential
Meets
Certification needs at least a passed exam and a passed screening; the exam covers the SPW Code of Conduct and signing script.
Background screening in the package
Meets
Included; the NNA says it meets the SPW standard, is valid for 1 year, and is separate from any state's notary background check.
Says it follows the SPW standards
Meets
The course, exam and screening are each described against the Signing Professionals Workgroup standards.
Live help from a mentor or coach
Not stated
The package pages name no live mentoring or coaching.
A directory listing or hiring list
Meets
A top-tier SigningAgent.com listing with the “NNA Trained, Certified & Background Screened” badge once course, exam and screening are done.
Remote online notarization training offered
check with the vendor
The package pages say nothing on remote closings; the NNA's main site blocked our reader, so ask.
Renewal or expiry terms published
Meets
The screening runs a year; a separate continuing-education package (course, exam, screening) renews the certification.

Read from Basic NSA Certification, Complete NSA Certification and NSA continuing education on .

The NNA's course catalog

Loan Signing System

Notary signing agent training course and LSS Certification

A self-paced video course on loan signings and on finding signing work, with its own certification on completion.

A notary who wants the business side taught, with group coaching while the first signings come in.

Length and format
Self-paced online video: more than 8 hours of core training plus bonus lessons, mock signings and sample loan documents; lifetime access.
Commission first?
Not needed to start: step 1 of its plan walks you through getting a commission.
An exam you pass to earn the credential
Not stated
The pages we read describe the certification as earned on completing the course and name no exam.
Background screening in the package
Not stated
Not included: its help center says the background check is a separate NNA purchase and recommends it.
Says it follows the SPW standards
Not stated
The pages we read do not mention the Signing Professionals Workgroup.
Live help from a mentor or coach
Meets
Its Six Figure course package includes 4 months of live mentorship with biweekly group coaching calls.
A directory listing or hiring list
Meets
The course gives you a list of hiring companies, plus scripts and templates for reaching them.
Remote online notarization training offered
check with the vendor
Remote online notarization appears as one of twelve income lessons, not as a RON course; ask what it covers.
Renewal or expiry terms published
Not stated
No renewal or expiry is stated for the LSS Certification.

Read from Courses and certification and Help center: background check on .

Loan Signing System's own site

Notary2Pro

Elite Loan Signing Agent Course

A video course built around error-free loan signings, with its own certification and a graduate resource site.

A notary who wants a mentor on the phone before the first real signing.

Length and format
Three courses with about 12.5 hours of video; 3 months to finish the course, its library and its testing materials.
Commission first?
Its course page includes a lesson on getting your commission in your state; it does not say one is needed to enroll.
An exam you pass to earn the credential
check with the vendor
Testing materials sit inside the 3-month access; no exam format or pass mark is published.
Background screening in the package
Not stated
The pages we read do not mention a background screening.
Says it follows the SPW standards
Not stated
The pages we read do not mention the Signing Professionals Workgroup.
Live help from a mentor or coach
Meets
A one-on-one call with a mentor before a signing and a mentoring phone line, for the first three months after graduation.
A directory listing or hiring list
Meets
A list of preferred hiring agencies open only to its graduates.
Remote online notarization training offered
check with the vendor
Its course page lists a Remote Online Notarization (RON) Training course as coming soon; ask when it opens.
Renewal or expiry terms published
Meets
It says its certification never expires.

Read from Home page and Course page and terms on .

Notary2Pro's own site

American Society of Notaries

ASN Notary Signing Agent Training Course

An introductory course on a signing agent's duties, with an exam option for the “ASN Certified” designation.

A notary who wants a short first course before deciding how far to take loan work.

Length and format
More than four hours: notarial practice, sole-proprietor considerations and working tips for a signing agent.
Commission first?
Anyone may take the course; the exam needs an active commission.
An exam you pass to earn the credential
Meets
The course includes an exam option for the “ASN Certified” Notary Signing Agent designation.
Background screening in the package
Not stated
The course page does not mention a background screening.
Says it follows the SPW standards
Not stated
The course page does not mention the Signing Professionals Workgroup.
Live help from a mentor or coach
Not stated
The course page names no mentoring.
A directory listing or hiring list
Not stated
The course page names no directory or hiring list.
Remote online notarization training offered
check with the vendor
Its training menu lists a separate Florida RON course; nothing for other states.
Renewal or expiry terms published
Not stated
No renewal or expiry is stated for the designation.

Read from Course information on .

The American Society of Notaries' course page

The course, your commission and your state

Every course here sits on top of a notary commission; none of them is one. The American Society of Notaries says plainly that its signing agent course is not a substitute for any training your state requires to commission you, and Loan Signing System says its training is not state notary training. If your state requires a course and exam before it commissions you, or before it authorizes remote acts, that course comes first and comes from a provider your state approves. Which states ask for what is laid out in remote online notary training by state, and the order of steps in how to become a remote online notary.

Signing agent classes and remote closings

A signing agent course teaches the loan package and the table manners of a closing. A remote closing adds two things no signing agent class can grant: your state's authority to notarize remotely, and a seat on the platform the lender or title company chose. Of the four providers, Notary2Pro lists a RON course as coming soon, Loan Signing System teaches remote notarization as one of its income lessons, the American Society of Notaries lists a Florida RON course, and the NNA package pages we could read say nothing about remote closings.

So treat remote loan work as a second step. What a remote closing asks of you, from identity proofing to the recording, is in RON for loan signings; the platforms that take independent signing agents are in RON platforms for notary signing agents; and the networks that send signings, with what each asks before it does, are in RON platforms that send you signings.

Before you enroll

How we compared

Questions notaries ask

Do I need a notary signing agent course to do loan signings?

Not by the industry standard itself: the Signing Professionals Workgroup's exam standard says a training course is not required. What the companies that hire signing agents ask for varies, and the NNA says many major title companies and signing services require its background screening, so ask the ones you want to work for before you choose a course.

Is a signing agent certification the same as a notary commission?

No. The commission comes from your state and lets you notarize; a signing agent certification is a private credential from a course provider or association. Every course on this page assumes you hold, or will hold, a commission, and the American Society of Notaries needs an active commission before you sit its exam.

Which loan signing course includes the background check?

Of the four read here, only the National Notary Association package includes a background screening, which it says meets the Signing Professionals Workgroup standard and is valid for a year. Loan Signing System says the background check is a separate NNA purchase; the Notary2Pro and American Society of Notaries pages we read do not mention one.

Does a signing agent certification expire?

It depends on whose. The workgroup's standard puts the exam and the screening on a yearly cycle, and the NNA renews its certification with a continuing-education package. Notary2Pro says its certification never expires. Loan Signing System and the American Society of Notaries state no term on the pages we read.

Will a signing agent course teach me remote online notarization?

Not by itself. Remote closings need your state's remote authorization and the platform the lender chose. Notary2Pro lists a RON course as coming soon, and Loan Signing System covers remote notarization as one income lesson; your state's own remote course, if it has one, still comes first. The states' courses are in remote online notary training by state.