Colorado's remote notarization providers
A Colorado remote notary must select at least one remote notarization system provider approved by the Secretary of State and confirm the provider has Active status before each remote notarization. The Secretary of State keeps the approved providers as a live register, Remote Notarization Providers, on its notary program page, and the rule makes your choice of provider part of your remote approval. The other states we read are under state rules and approved lists.
Register last checked
Fig. 1The register
The register listed 20 providers when we read it, every one typed as a full system provider. It carries no date of its own: it is a live page, so the date that matters is the day you read it. Names are the legal entities the providers filed under, in the register's order.
| Platform, as the list writes it | Technology system provided | Our comparison |
|---|---|---|
| Black Knight Technologies, LLC | Full system provider | Read the comparison |
| Blend Labs, Inc. | Full system provider | Read the comparison |
| Blue Notary LLC | Full system provider | Read the comparison |
| D.S. Minnich and Son's Ranch L.L.C. | Full system provider | Not compared yet |
| DocMagic, Inc | Full system provider | Read the comparison |
| DocuSign, Inc. | Full system provider | Read the comparison |
| Epic River Healthcare, Inc | Full system provider | Read the comparison |
| Notarize, Inc. | Full system provider | Read the comparison |
| NotaryCam, Inc. | Full system provider | Read the comparison |
| NOTARYLIVE INC. | Full system provider | Read the comparison |
| NotaryPro Technologies USA Inc | Full system provider | Not compared yet |
| ONENOTARY, INC. | Full system provider | Read the comparison |
| Online Notary Center Inc | Full system provider | Read the comparison |
| PandaDoc, Inc. | Full system provider | Read the comparison |
| ProNotary Group LLC | Full system provider | Read the comparison |
| Rocket Close, LLC | Full system provider | Read the comparison |
| SIGNiX | Full system provider | Read the comparison |
| SIMPLIFILE LC | Full system provider | Read the comparison |
| Snapdocs Technologies LLC | Full system provider | Read the comparison |
| Stavvy, Inc. | Full system provider | Read the comparison |
Checking one platform across several states at once is quicker in the state-approved platform finder.
What “full system provider” means
The register's last column is not decoration. Colorado's rule defines two kinds of provider, and the difference decides where your recordings can live for the next 10 years.
- Remote notarization system provider
Remote notarization system provider
A remote notarization system provider supplies the remote notarization system, including storage of both the notarized electronic records and the audio-video recordings.
- 20 of 20on the register
- Remote notarization storage provider
Remote notarization storage provider
A remote notarization storage provider solely stores the notarized electronic records and the audio-video recordings.
- 0 of 20on the register
Every one of the 20 entries is a full system provider, and none is a storage-only provider. That matters because only remote notarization system providers and storage providers approved by the Secretary of State may store the audio-video recordings. 8 CCR 1505-11, Rule 5.2.4(d) read A drive in your office, or a cloud folder you rent yourself, is not one of them. In practice the platform you run the session on keeps the recording, so its storage term is your storage term. How long that has to be, and how to work out the date for a given session, is in RON recording retention by state and the recording retention date calculator.
The Secretary of State's FAQ adds a line for the notary: before a remote act, it is your responsibility to check that the provider's technology records and stores the session and otherwise meets the rules (remote notarization FAQ, A4).
Your duties toward the provider
Most states stop at “use an approved platform.” Colorado keeps going: the provider is part of your remote approval itself, so picking one, changing one and losing one each carry a step on your side.
The second duty is the one notaries miss. It is not a one-time check when you sign up with a platform. The rule puts it on every act:
“A remote notary public has an ongoing duty to verify that each remote notary provider used has Active status with the Secretary of State’s office before using that provider’s remote notarization system to perform a remote notarization. This duty extends to each remote notarization.”
The register does not print a status column. Each row carries the provider's Colorado business entity number, and opening it shows the company's business information, including its standing as a Colorado entity, which the rule requires a provider to keep. If a provider you use drops off the register or its business record no longer reads in good standing, stop and ask the Secretary of State before the next session.
The fifth duty is the case for a second provider. If your only provider loses its approval, your remote approval goes with it. A second approved provider already on file keeps you working, and the Secretary's FAQ confirms you may name more than one. Running work across two platforms is covered in using more than one RON platform.
Colorado also publishes the other side of the ledger: a register of approved remote notaries with the providers each one has on file. It counted 3,351 notaries when we read it on . After you add or drop a provider, look up your own entry there and confirm the change took.
What the listed providers say about storage and signers
Every provider on the register has satisfied the Secretary of State's technical protocols, so the list alone does not separate them. What does is what each one tells a notary about storage, the journal and who brings the signer. Of the 18 entries we can match to a product, 6 publish a storage term on their own pages; for the rest the term is something to get in writing before your first Colorado session.
| Platform | Records the audio-video sessionSession recorded | States a storage term that covers Colorado's 10 yearsStorage term stated | Keeps an electronic journal for youPlatform journal | You can bring your own signersOwn signers | Built for eClosings and title workeClosing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Expedite (ICE, formerly DocVerify) | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Meets |
| Blend Close | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Meets |
| BlueNotary | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets |
| DocMagic eNotary (Total eClose) | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Meets |
| Docusign Notary | Meets | Not stated | Meets | check with the vendor | Not stated |
| Epic River eNotary | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | check with the vendor | Not stated |
| Proof | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets |
| NotaryCam | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets |
| NotaryLive | Meets | Not stated | check with the vendor | Meets | Meets |
| OneNotary | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | check with the vendor |
| Online Notary Center | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | Not stated |
| PandaDoc Notary | Meets | Not stated | Meets | check with the vendor | check with the vendor |
| ProNotary | Meets | Not stated | Meets | Meets | check with the vendor |
| Clear Sign (Rocket Close) | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Meets |
| SIGNiX | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets |
| Simplifile eSign Events (ICE) | Meets | Not stated | Meets | check with the vendor | Meets |
| Snapdocs | Meets | Not stated | Not stated | Meets | Meets |
| Stavvy | Meets | Not stated | check with the vendor | check with the vendor | Meets |
A check means the vendor's own page says so; a dash means the pages we read do not say; “check with the vendor” means what they say is partial. Colorado wants your journal under your sole control, so with a platform journal ask whether you can export your entries and keep them if you leave. More on that in electronic notary journals, compared.
The register prints the legal entity, not the product, so some names hide the platform you may know: Black Knight Technologies, LLC is Expedite (ICE, formerly DocVerify) and Notarize, Inc. is Proof.
Two entries match no product record of ours: D.S. Minnich and Son's Ranch L.L.C.; NotaryPro Technologies USA Inc. They are approved all the same; ask the company what it offers a Colorado notary and confirm the listing with the Secretary of State. Every provider across all 8 state lists we read is in state-approved RON platforms, and for a solo notary's shortlist see RON platforms for a solo notary.
Before you close a remote act
The provider duties sit beside the session rules. This list puts the Colorado-specific ones in the order they come up during a session, each with its source. Print it for the desk, or tick it on screen. The one-time setup (training, exam, approval) is in how to become a remote online notary, and how Colorado's course and exam compare with other states' is in remote online notary training by state.
Colorado remote act checklist, juratkit.com
Before you close a Colorado remote act
0 of 10 checked
Tick each line as you confirm it. Nothing is saved or sent.
Colorado's remote notary rules
The rest of what Colorado asks of a remote notary, from the statute and the Secretary of State's rules. Journal fields across states are compared in notary journal requirements by state.
- Remote notarization authorized
A Colorado notary approved as a remote notary may notarize electronic records for a remotely located individual by audio-video communication.
C.R.S. § 24-21-514.5 read
- How a notary gets RON authority
Submit a notice of intent on the approved form with proof of the remote training and exam and the fee, and receive the Secretary of State's approval; select at least one approved provider; renew every four years or with the commission.
- Training or exam
Complete the Secretary of State's remote notarization training course and exam; renewal requires renewal training and exam within 90 days before renewing.
- Session recording kept for
The audio-video recording must be securely stored for ten years; journal retention rules apply equally to recordings.
- Electronic journal
A remote notary must keep an electronic, tamper-evident, backed-up journal for remote notarizations and record the provider used for each one.
- Journal kept for
Keep the journal for ten years after the last notarial act it records.
- Journal entry fields
Date and time; description of the record and type of act; full name and address of each individual; signature or electronic signature of each; how identity was established and the type of ID; interpreter name, address and credential number; the fee; plus the remote provider used.
- Identity proofing
Personal knowledge, a credible witness, or remote presentation and credential analysis of a government photo ID plus one of: dynamic knowledge-based authentication, a valid public key certificate, or a trusted third-party identity verification.
- Digital certificate and e-seal
The electronic seal must match the official stamp and the electronic signature must match the official signature on file; both stay under the notary's sole control and must make the document tamper-evident.
- Fee for a remote act
Up to $25 for the notary's electronic signature, in lieu of the $15 per-document fee.
- Where the signer may be
The notary must be in Colorado. The signer may be anywhere in the United States; outside the U.S., the notary must not know the act is prohibited there and the record must relate to a U.S. matter, property or transaction.
- Certificate wording
The certificate must indicate that the notarial act was performed using audio-video communication technology.
Questions notaries ask
Which platforms can a Colorado remote notary use?
Only a provider approved by the Secretary of State. The register listed 20 remote notarization providers when we read it on , and you must select at least one when you apply for remote approval.
Can I have more than one provider on file?
Yes. The Secretary of State's remote notarization FAQ says you may choose more than one provider but must keep at least one on record. A second provider also protects your approval: if your only provider loses its approval, your remote approval expires with it (8 CCR 1505-11, Rule 5.2.9(a)(6), (b)). See using more than one RON platform.
Do I have to tell the Secretary of State when I switch platforms?
Yes. Notify the Secretary of State through its online system within 30 days after changing a system or storage provider. (8 CCR 1505-11, Rule 5.2.8). Your journal entries also have to name the provider used for each act, so a switch shows up there too.
How long must the session recordings be kept, and where?
10 years, and only by a system or storage provider the Secretary of State has approved. Every entry on the register when we read it was a full system provider, which by Colorado's definition includes storage of the records and recordings. Work out the end date for a session with the recording retention date calculator; what the recording must show, and Colorado's rule when a session restarts, is in RON session recording requirements.
Is a Colorado electronic notary the same as a remote notary?
No. The Secretary of State's FAQ draws the line: an electronic notarization has the signer in the same room and needs a Document Authentication Number from the Secretary of State on each act; a remote notarization uses real-time audio-video and an approved provider's system. The wider difference is in RON vs IPEN.
Can I notarize remotely while I am travelling outside Colorado?
No. The notary must be physically in Colorado. The signer may be anywhere in the U.S., and outside it under conditions on the record and the place; those are set out in remote signers outside the US.
What can I charge for a Colorado remote notarization?
Up to $25 for the notary's electronic signature on a remote act. The platform's own charges are separate and set by the provider. Other states' caps are in remote notarization fees by state.
Related
- RON technology providers on state lists: who sits on the mostOne table of providers against the state lists, dated, each linked to the state's own list.
- State-approved RON platform finderPick a state that publishes a list and see the platforms on it, as the state writes them.
- How to become a remote online notaryThe common path from commission to first remote act, each step linked to its state page.
- Notary journal requirements by stateWhich states require a journal, what an entry for a remote act must hold, and how long it is kept.
- RON readiness checklistYour state's steps before a first remote act, ticked off one by one.