E-signature platforms with a notary feature, compared
For a notary whose office already sends documents for e-signature: which suites add remote online notarization, what each one still leaves to you, and when a dedicated RON platform is the better fit. No vendor ranks first by default; each pick below answers one kind of office. The dedicated platforms are read the same way under RON platforms by use case.
Table last checked
Best if your office already sends in Docusign
It adds a notary room to the eSignature account you already run, for the notaries your office employs.
Best if you want an on-demand pool beside your own staff
Its own network of commissioned notaries can take a session when your in-house notary cannot.
Best if you also notarize in person, electronically
It covers remote and in-person electronic acts, and the notary uploads their own certificate.
Fig. 1Where your office starts
An e-signature suite with a notary feature is sold to the office, not to the notary. It puts a recorded video room, identity checks and a journal inside the account your office already sends documents from. What it never supplies is your commission or your state's permission to act remotely. Pick the line that describes your office.
Pick where your office starts. Each view reads from the same vendor pages as the table.
Your office already runs on Docusign eSignature
A RON add-on built on Docusign eSignature that equips an organization's in-house notaries or gives it an on-demand pool of notaries.
Docusign's own FAQ says the product is a good fit for organizations that notarize 200 or more documents a year. Docusign also says organizations supply their own notaries public, so the notary is someone your office employs.
- Recording
- Each notarial session's audit trail includes an audio-visual recording.
- Journal
- The session audit trail includes an electronic journal.
- Certificate
- Issues digital certificates to notaries and adds a tamper-evident Certificate of Completion to each session.
- Recording kept for
- Mentions stored recordings but no retention period on the pages read; check with the vendor.
- RON lists it is on
- CO, MD, MO, PA
The rule's requirements, platform by platform
The rows are what state rules ask of a remote platform, not the features a vendor advertises. A check means the vendor's own page says it; an em dash means the page we read does not say; “check with the vendor” means the page leaves it open. The last column counts remote entries only, so a vendor approved for in-person electronic work alone on a list is not counted there. The rule behind each row is explained in what state rules ask of a RON platform.
| Platform | Identity proofing: credential analysis + knowledge-based authenticationIdentity proofing | Audio-video session recordedSession recorded | Recording retained for the state's periodRecording retained | Electronic journal kept by the platformPlatform journal | Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole controlTamper-evident technology | Signer can join from a browser / phoneSigner joins from a browser | Independent notary can bring their own signersOwn signers | Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RONSupports IPEN | Approved-platform lists it appears onState lists |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Docusign Notary | Meets | Meets | Not stated | Meets | Meets | Meets | check with the vendor | Not stated | CO, MD, MO, PA |
| PandaDoc Notary | Meets | Meets | Not stated | Meets | Meets | Meets | check with the vendor | Not stated | CO, KS, LA, MD, MO, PA |
| OneSpan Notary | Meets | Meets | Not stated | Meets | Meets | Meets | check with the vendor | Meets | KS, LA, MD, MO |
| SIGNiX | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | Not stated | CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA |
| Secured Signing | Meets | Meets | check with the vendor | Meets | Meets | Not stated | Meets | Meets | KS, MD, MO, PA |
Each platform, read against the rule
The first three are suites: notary products added to an e-signature platform an organization already pays for. The last two are digital-signature companies that sell a notary plan to the notary as well. Each card shows the vendor's note beside the status, so you can see where a claim stops.
Docusign Notary
A RON add-on built on Docusign eSignature that equips an organization's in-house notaries or gives it an on-demand pool of notaries.
A notary employed by a business that already sends agreements through Docusign eSignature.
- Identity proofing: credential analysis + knowledge-based authentication
- Meets
- Uses photo ID verification and knowledge-based authentication for signers.
- Audio-video session recorded
- Meets
- Each notarial session's audit trail includes an audio-visual recording.
- Recording retained for the state's period
- Not stated
- Mentions stored recordings but no retention period on the pages read; check with the vendor.
- Electronic journal kept by the platform
- Meets
- The session audit trail includes an electronic journal.
- Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
- Meets
- Issues digital certificates to notaries and adds a tamper-evident Certificate of Completion to each session.
- Signer can join from a browser / phone
- Meets
- Signers need a computer, tablet or smartphone with a camera and microphone; no special software.
- Independent notary can bring their own signers
- check with the vendor
- Built for organizations to equip their in-house notaries; use by an independent notary for their own clients is not described. Check with the vendor.
- Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
- Not stated
- In-person electronic notarization is not described on the pages read.
- Platform sends notaries signings through its own network
- check with the vendor
- Its on-demand notary pool is "powered by our trusted partner OneNotary"; how a notary joins is not described on Docusign's pages.
- Supports eClosing / title workflows
- Not stated
- Real estate closing or title workflows are not described on the pages read.
- Approved-platform lists it appears on
- CO, MD, MO, PA
PandaDoc Notary
PandaDoc's RON product (formerly LiveNotary): eSignature plus remote notarization for businesses, with in-house notaries or an on-demand notary network.
A notary working inside a business that already prepares documents in PandaDoc, or one who wants X.509 signing included.
- Identity proofing: credential analysis + knowledge-based authentication
- Meets
- Uses two-point identification: knowledge-based authentication with live credential evaluation; biometrics are also offered.
- Audio-video session recorded
- Meets
- Records the audio-visual session and keeps it with the electronic journal.
- Recording retained for the state's period
- Not stated
- Says recordings and journals sit in cloud storage for viewing and download; no retention period on the pages read. Check with the vendor.
- Electronic journal kept by the platform
- Meets
- Includes electronic journaling with session recordings.
- Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
- Meets
- Seals documents with X.509 signing certificates, which it calls tamper-proof.
- Signer can join from a browser / phone
- Meets
- Signers can join on a mobile phone or tablet, confirm their ID and sign.
- Independent notary can bring their own signers
- check with the vendor
- Lets a business bring its own notary staff; use by an independent notary for their own clients is not described on the pages read.
- Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
- Not stated
- In-person electronic notarization is not described on the pages read; Kansas's list (Rev 6.3.2026) prints PandaDoc, Inc as "RON, IPEN, Digital Certificate", so ask the vendor whether IPEN is offered in your state.
- Platform sends notaries signings through its own network
- Meets
- Connects businesses to state-commissioned notaries in its on-demand network; how a notary joins is not described.
- Supports eClosing / title workflows
- check with the vendor
- Mentions notary staff completing "remote online notarizations and closings" and has a lenders page; title workflows are not described. Check with the vendor.
- Approved-platform lists it appears on
- CO, KS, LA, MD, MO, PA
OneSpan Notary
OneSpan's notarization product for organizations, covering RON and in-person electronic notarization on top of its e-signature platform.
A notary employed by a bank, insurer, auto lender or law firm whose administrators onboard notaries centrally and who holds their own X.509 certificate.
- Identity proofing: credential analysis + knowledge-based authentication
- Meets
- Offers ID verification, knowledge-based authentication and credential analysis options.
- Audio-video session recorded
- Meets
- Each notarized agreement comes with a recording of the session and an audit trail.
- Recording retained for the state's period
- Not stated
- No retention period on the page read; check with the vendor.
- Electronic journal kept by the platform
- Meets
- The notary records session information in an eJournal.
- Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
- Meets
- The notary uploads their own PKI X.509 digital certificate; digital signatures after each signature make the document tamper-evident.
- Signer can join from a browser / phone
- Meets
- Signers join by clicking an email link; it asks for a personal computer with a webcam and microphone, phone use not stated.
- Independent notary can bring their own signers
- check with the vendor
- Sold to organizations whose administrators onboard their notaries; use by an independent notary is not described. Check with the vendor.
- Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
- Meets
- Offers OneSpan Notary In-Person Electronic Notarization (IPEN).
- Platform sends notaries signings through its own network
- Not stated
- No on-demand notary network described.
- Supports eClosing / title workflows
- Not stated
- Its use cases are wealth management, auto finance, insurance and legal; real estate closing workflows are not described.
- Approved-platform lists it appears on
- KS, LA, MD, MO
SIGNiX
A cloud digital-signature company whose RON product (eNotaryDoX) gives a notary X.509 certificate signing, an eNotary journal, signer authentication and stored video.
A notary or title office that wants standards-based digital signatures and its own notaries in control of the session.
- Identity proofing: credential analysis + knowledge-based authentication
- Meets
- Offers knowledge-based authentication and identity document verification; credential analysis is listed in its title-agency plan.
- Audio-video session recorded
- Meets
- Lists video recording in its RON software; its plan FAQ says Zoom is integrated for the recording, optional, and other video platforms can be used.
- Recording retained for the state's period
- Meets
- Its RON plans list "Video Storage (10 years)"; check the term with the vendor.
- Electronic journal kept by the platform
- Meets
- Its RON plans include an eNotary Journal.
- Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
- Meets
- Plans include an X.509 digital certificate; it says its standards-based digital signatures protect the document from tampering.
- Signer can join from a browser / phone
- Meets
- Says parties can join from any web browser on a desktop or mobile device, with no app to install.
- Independent notary can bring their own signers
- Meets
- Sells RON plans per notary user, and its directory lists independent notary businesses that use it.
- Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
- Not stated
- In-person electronic notarization is not described on the vendor pages read.
- Platform sends notaries signings through its own network
- check with the vendor
- Publishes a directory of notaries who use SIGNiX; routing signings to notaries is not described. Check with the vendor.
- Supports eClosing / title workflows
- Meets
- Sells RON to title agencies so they can run closings with their own notaries.
- Approved-platform lists it appears on
- CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
Secured Signing
A digital signature and RON platform with plans for individual notaries, in-house notaries, signing services and title companies, plus IPEN and an outsource notary queue.
An individual notary who wants the platform to issue the X.509 certificate and keep video and journal for up to ten years.
- Identity proofing: credential analysis + knowledge-based authentication
- Meets
- Verifies signers with knowledge-based Q&A against personal-history databases (80% correct to proceed) and SMS two-factor codes; credential analysis is not named on the page read.
- Audio-video session recorded
- Meets
- Records the live video signing and notarization session and adds it to the document.
- Recording retained for the state's period
- check with the vendor
- Says "We store the video for up to 10 years": a ceiling, not a minimum, where a state asks for at least ten. Ask the vendor to confirm the term in writing.
- Electronic journal kept by the platform
- Meets
- Keeps a digital journal, exportable to PDF or Excel and stored for up to 10 years.
- Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
- Meets
- Issues X.509 certificates (with IdenTrust Federal Bridge certificates where a state requires them) and calls its PKI signing tamper-evident.
- Signer can join from a browser / phone
- Not stated
- Signer devices are not described on the pages read.
- Independent notary can bring their own signers
- Meets
- Sells RON to individual notaries to verify and notarize for their own clients.
- Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
- Meets
- Lists in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) among its notary features.
- Platform sends notaries signings through its own network
- check with the vendor
- Lists a Notary On-Demand service and an outsource queue that hands jobs to an external signing service; how notaries join is not described. Check with the vendor.
- Supports eClosing / title workflows
- Meets
- Has a RON plan for title agencies and underwriters; it says it is MISMO certified.
- Approved-platform lists it appears on
- KS, MD, MO, PA
Which state lists carry them
8 states publish a list we could read in full. Each list is shown here as the state prints it, because the type column matters: a mixed list can approve a vendor for in-person electronic acts and not for remote ones. On PA's list, OneSpan's entry reads “e-notary”, so it is not counted as a remote listing there. The full picture across every provider is in state-approved RON platforms.
| State list | Docusign Notary | PandaDoc Notary | OneSpan Notary | SIGNiX | Secured Signing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coloradochecked 2026-10-22 | DocuSign, Inc.Full system provider | PandaDoc, Inc.Full system provider | Not on this list | SIGNiXFull system provider | Not on this list |
| KansasRev 6.3.2026 | Not on this list | PandaDoc, IncRON, IPEN, Digital Certificate4.21.2022 - present | OneSpan North America Inc.IPEN, RON8.25.2023 – present | SIGNiXIPEN, RON, Digital Certificate1.5.2022 – present | Secured Signing Inc.IPEN, RON, Digital Certificate1.14.2022 – present |
| Louisianachecked 2026-10-22 | Not on this list | PandaDoc | OneSpan Notary | SIGNiX | Not on this list |
| MaineRev. 9/2026 | Not on this list | Not on this list | Not on this list | Signix, Inc.Remote Notarization, Electronic Notarization05/15/2025 – 05/15/2027 | Not on this list |
| Marylandchecked 2026-10-22 | DocuSign | PandaDoc, Inc. | OneSpan North America, Inc. | SIGNiX | Secured Signing, Inc. |
| Missourichecked 2026-10-22 | DocuSign, Inc.11/10/2021-Present | LiveNotary, LLC12/15/2020-PresentPandaDoc, Inc.3/29/2022-Present | OneSpan North America, Inc.7/6/2023-Present | SIGNiX, Inc.10/28/2020-Present | Secured Signing Inc.11/10/2020-Present |
| Nebraskachecked 2026-10-22 | Not on this list | Not on this list | Not on this list | SIGNiX | Not on this list |
| PennsylvaniaUPDATED: April 30, 2026 | DocuSign, Inc.e-notary, RONe-notary 12/7/2018; RON 3/8/2021 | PandaDoc (formerly LiveNotary)RONRON 1/29/2021 | OneSpane-notarynot a remote entrye-notary 8/4/2020 | SIGNiXe-notary, RONe-notary 5/18/2020; RON 5/18/2020 | Secured Signing Inc.e-notary, RONe-notary 3/10/2021; RON 3/10/2021 |
What the suite does not bring
Your office buys the suite; the state commissions you. Four things stay with the notary on every platform here: the authority to act remotely (a notice, registration or separate commission), the certificate and seal your state describes, keeping the recording for your state's period, and a journal that meets your state's rule. Pick a state to read its own words. Recording periods across states are set side by side in RON recording retention by state.
Pick a state. The rows are the state's own rule, with its cite.
Colorado. A Colorado remote notary must select at least one remote notarization system provider approved by the Secretary of State and confirm the provider has Active status before each remote notarization.
Suites on its list as remote entries: Docusign Notary, PandaDoc Notary. List checked . Read Colorado's list in full
- Your own remote authority
Submit a notice of intent on the approved form with proof of the remote training and exam and the fee, and receive the Secretary of State's approval; select at least one approved provider; renew every four years or with the commission.
- Certificate and seal
The electronic seal must match the official stamp and the electronic signature must match the official signature on file; both stay under the notary's sole control and must make the document tamper-evident.
- Recording kept for
The audio-video recording must be securely stored for ten years; journal retention rules apply equally to recordings.
- Journal
A remote notary must keep an electronic, tamper-evident, backed-up journal for remote notarizations and record the provider used for each one.
Suite or dedicated RON platform
A suite fits when the documents already live in it and the notary works for the office. A dedicated RON platform fits when the notary is the customer: it is built around the notary's own account, journal and signers. The same questions, answered from each vendor's pages:
| Question | E-signature suite | Dedicated RON platform |
|---|---|---|
| Who the notary account is for | Docusign Notary: Built for organizations to equip their in-house notaries; use by an independent notary for their own clients is not described. Check with the vendor. OneSpan Notary: Sold to organizations whose administrators onboard their notaries; use by an independent notary is not described. Check with the vendor. | Proof: Notary-sourced transaction accounts let a notary send transactions to their own clients, in the states Proof lists; check your state is on that list. |
| Where signers come from besides your own | Docusign Notary: Its on-demand notary pool is "powered by our trusted partner OneNotary"; how a notary joins is not described on Docusign's pages. PandaDoc Notary: Connects businesses to state-commissioned notaries in its on-demand network; how a notary joins is not described. | Proof: Runs the on-demand Notarize Network; it says network notaries need a background check and NNA training. |
| Where the digital certificate comes from | Docusign Notary: Issues digital certificates to notaries and adds a tamper-evident Certificate of Completion to each session. OneSpan Notary: The notary uploads their own PKI X.509 digital certificate; digital signatures after each signature make the document tamper-evident. | Proof: Issues each notary a Proof Digital Certificate plus a free electronic seal; its title FAQ says it does not support certificates or seals bought from other vendors. |
| How long the recording is kept | Docusign Notary: Mentions stored recordings but no retention period on the pages read; check with the vendor. PandaDoc Notary: Says recordings and journals sit in cloud storage for viewing and download; no retention period on the pages read. Check with the vendor. | Proof: Says recordings and the journal are "managed and stored by Proof for your state's minimum record retention period". |
| In-person electronic acts as well | OneSpan Notary: Offers OneSpan Notary In-Person Electronic Notarization (IPEN). | Proof: No in-person electronic notarization product found on the pages read. |
If you want both kinds of act on one platform, read RON vs IPEN first. How each platform checks a signer's identity is covered in identity proofing in RON.
How we compared
Questions notaries ask
Is Docusign Notary part of Docusign eSignature?
It is a separate notary product built on Docusign eSignature. A signature alone is not a notarization: the act still needs a commissioned notary authorized for remote acts, identity proofing, a recorded session and a journal entry. The session audit trail includes an electronic journal.
Can an independent notary use Docusign Notary for their own clients?
Built for organizations to equip their in-house notaries; use by an independent notary for their own clients is not described. Check with the vendor. Its on-demand notary pool is "powered by our trusted partner OneNotary"; how a notary joins is not described on Docusign's pages. For your own clients, start with RON platforms for a solo notary.
Docusign Notary or Proof: which fits a notary?
They answer different jobs. Docusign Notary equips an organization's own notaries inside its eSignature account. Proof is a dedicated RON platform: Notary-sourced transaction accounts let a notary send transactions to their own clients, in the states Proof lists; check your state is on that list. Issues each notary a Proof Digital Certificate plus a free electronic seal; its title FAQ says it does not support certificates or seals bought from other vendors. The platforms that send notaries signings are compared on their own page.
Is PandaDoc Notary the same product as LiveNotary?
PandaDoc's notary product was formerly LiveNotary, and some state lists still print the older name. Counting both names, it is a remote entry on these lists: CO, KS, LA, MD, MO, PA.
Does a vendor on my state's list mean I can use it for remote acts?
Only if the list approves it for remote notarization, and only after you have done your own state's step (a notice or registration naming the technology, where the state asks for one). Some lists mix remote and in-person electronic entries. OneSpan, for example, appears on PA's list as "e-notary", which is not a remote approval there. Which providers sit on the most state lists reads every list.
Do I need my own digital certificate on an e-signature suite?
It depends on the suite and the state. Issues digital certificates to notaries and adds a tamper-evident Certificate of Completion to each session. The notary uploads their own PKI X.509 digital certificate; digital signatures after each signature make the document tamper-evident. Some states name the certificate they want, so read your state's rule first; the digital certificate providers are compared separately.
Related
- RON platforms for a solo notary, comparedFor an independent notary: own signers, a journal and recording kept for your state's period, and the state lists each is on.
- Notary digital certificate providers, comparedWho issues X.509 certificates to notaries, how identity is checked before issue, and which platforms accept one you bring.
- Electronic notary journals, comparedStandalone e-journals and platform journals, read against the entry fields states require and whether entries export.
- Identity proofing in RON: credential analysis and KBAWhat the two checks are, what states require of each, and what the notary still decides.
- RON readiness checklistYour state's steps before a first remote act, ticked off one by one.