Skip to content
Juratkit
Menu

Electronic notary software (RON and in-person electronic), compared

For a notary choosing software for remote acts, in-person electronic acts, or both: which tools the Kansas, Nebraska, Pennsylvania and Maine lists approve for each act, and what each tool supplies (a journal, a digital certificate, a seal) against what you must bring. The platforms are read by use case across RON platforms.

Lists and vendor pages last checked

Best if you need remote and in-person on one account

A tablet IPEN product beside RON, a platform journal and recordings kept at least ten years; Kansas lists it for IPEN, RON and a digital certificate. Pennsylvania approves it for RON only.

BlueNotary

Best if you already hold your own certificate

It works with the certificate you upload (it names IdenTrust), keeps the journal and the video, and sits on both of Nebraska's lists.

OneNotary

Best for a settlement or title office notary

Hybrid, IPEN and RON events in one tool for offices that eRecord through Simplifile, and listed for both acts on every state list read here.

Simplifile eSign Events (ICE)

Art Deco illustration of a tablet with a signature line beside a laptop, split by a stepped dividerFig. 1
One desk, two kinds of act: a signing tablet for the signer in the room, a video call for the signer who is not.

The software against what the rules ask

Each column is something a state rule asks of a RON platform or of you through it: an electronic journal, a certificate that makes later changes show, a recorded session kept for the state's period, identity proofing before a remote act. The first column is the one this page is about: whether the vendor's own pages describe an in-person electronic product beside RON. A check means the vendor states it; an em dash means its pages are silent; "check with the vendor" means what we read was unclear.

Tools an independent notary can run for their own signers

Read from each vendor's own pages on ; the last column is the state lists we read that carry the tool.
PlatformSupports IPENPlatform journalTamper-evident technologySession recordedRecording retainedIdentity proofingSigner joins from a browserState lists
BlueNotaryMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsCO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
OneNotaryMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsCO, KS, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
NotaryLiveMeetscheck with the vendorcheck with the vendorMeetsNot statedMeetsMeetsCO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
NotaryCamMeetsMeetscheck with the vendorMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsCO, KS, LA, MD, MO, NE, PA
Online Notary CenterMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsCO, LA, MD, MO, NE, PA
Secured SigningMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetscheck with the vendorMeetsNot statedKS, MD, MO, PA
SnapdocsMeetsNot statedcheck with the vendorMeetsNot statedMeetsMeetsCO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
ProofNot statedMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsCO, KS, MD, MO, NE, PA
SIGNiXNot statedMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsCO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
ProNotaryNot statedMeetscheck with the vendorMeetsNot statedMeetsMeetsCO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, PA

If you notarize on your own account, these are the tools to shortlist. For solo work on the remote side alone, the RON platforms for a solo notary page goes deeper on own-signer terms.

Tools you reach through an employer, lender or title office

These are sold to lenders, settlement agents, banks and title offices, whose in-house notaries run them. They carry most of the in-person electronic approvals on the lists, because hybrid closings, where some documents are signed on paper and others electronically, happen at a table. If you close loans for one office, ask which of these it licenses before you buy anything yourself; the title and escrow comparison covers the remote side. If the office signs through Docusign, PandaDoc or OneSpan instead, read e-signature platforms with a notary feature.

Read from each vendor's own pages on ; many publish little about the notary's side, so check with the vendor.
PlatformSupports IPENPlatform journalTamper-evident technologySession recordedRecording retainedSupports eClosingState lists
StavvyMeetscheck with the vendorMeetsMeetsNot statedMeetsCO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
OneSpan NotaryMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsNot statedNot statedKS, LA, MD, MO
Simplifile eSign Events (ICE)MeetsMeetsNot statedMeetsNot statedMeetsCO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
Clear Sign (Rocket Close)MeetsNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedMeetsCO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
DocMagic eNotary (Total eClose)MeetsNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedMeetsCO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO
Epic River eNotaryMeetsNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedCO, KS, LA, MD, MO, NE, PA

RON, IPEN or both: how the state lists split them

"Electronic notary software" covers two different acts. In an in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) the signer stands in front of you and signs an electronic document; Pennsylvania's Department of State keeps "the requirement for the signer to appear personally (physically) before the notary" for it. In remote online notarization (RON) that appearance happens over audio-video instead, and the session is recorded. Most of the tools below do RON; fewer are approved for both. Our RON and IPEN guide covers the acts themselves; this page is about the software.

The states that publish a provider list do not all write the split the same way, and the way they write it decides what you can use. The lists below name it outright:

How each list marks remote and in-person electronic approval. Counts are the providers on each list as we read it on .
StateHow the list splits the twoListed for remoteListed for in-person electronic
KansasKSOne list. Each provider's "Technology Offered" cell names IPEN, RON, Digital Certificate or Electronic journal.Rev 6.3.20263023
NebraskaNETwo lists and two registrations: online notary, and in-person electronic notary.2011
PennsylvaniaPAOne list. Each provider is approved for "e-notary", "RON" or both.UPDATED: April 30, 20262820
MaineMEOne list. Each provider is approved for "Remote Notarization, Electronic Notarization".Rev. 9/20261211

Nebraska is the one to read twice. It runs two registrations on top of the commission, each with its own course, exam and filing fee: online notary (a $50 filing fee) and in-person electronic notary (a $100 filing fee, and a 20-question exam passed at 85%). Each has its own list of approved solution providers, and a tool on the online list is not on the in-person list by default. See Nebraska's two lists, read and dated.

Kansas keeps one list and writes each provider's technology in a cell, so you can see that a tool is approved for RON but not IPEN without leaving the page; before your first remote act you notify the Secretary of State of the provider you will use and pay a $20 fee. See the Kansas list by type and Pennsylvania's e-notary and RON approvals.

Where each tool is listed, act by act

Pick the acts you perform and the list you work under. With a list state chosen, the state's list decides; with "Another state", the vendor's own pages decide, and your state's list (if it keeps one) still has the last word. The state-approved platform finder covers the remote-only lists of other states.

Acts you perform
The list you work under

Tools in this comparison that match

13 of 16

Read from Kansas's own list; a tool must be listed for every act you chose.

The full grid shows the gaps the finder hides. Three things stand out. SIGNiX's own pages do not describe an in-person product, yet Kansas lists it for IPEN and Pennsylvania for e-notary: a list can know more than a marketing page. BlueNotary and OneNotary both sell IPEN, and Pennsylvania approves each for RON only. And on Nebraska's in-person list, the only tools here that an independent notary can run for their own signers are OneNotary and Snapdocs; the rest sit with lenders and settlement offices.

Each list's own words for each tool. Nebraska's two lists have no type column: a check means the tool is on that list. Lists read ; Nebraska's in-person list carries 11 providers.
ToolKSNE onlineNE in-personPAME
BlueNotaryIPEN, RON, Digital CertificateListedNot on this listRONRemote Notarization, Electronic Notarization
OneNotaryRON, IPENListedListedRONRemote Notarization, Electronic Notarization
NotaryLiveRON, IPEN, Electronic journalListedNot on this liste-notary, RONRemote Notarization, Electronic Notarization
NotaryCamRON, IPENListedNot on this liste-notary, RONNot on this list
Online Notary CenterNot on this listListedNot on this listRONNot on this list
Secured SigningIPEN, RON, Digital CertificateNot on this listNot on this liste-notary, RONNot on this list
SnapdocsRON, IPENListedListedRONRemote Notarization, Electronic Notarization
ProofRONListedNot on this listRONNot on this list
SIGNiXIPEN, RON, Digital CertificateListedNot on this liste-notary, RONRemote Notarization, Electronic Notarization
ProNotaryRONNot on this listNot on this listRONRemote Notarization
StavvyIPEN, RONListedListede-notary, RONRemote Notarization, Electronic Notarization
OneSpan NotaryIPEN, RONNot on this listNot on this liste-notaryNot on this list
Simplifile eSign Events (ICE)IPEN, RONListedListede-notary, RONRemote Notarization, Electronic Notarization
Clear Sign (Rocket Close)IPEN, RONListedListede-notary, RONRemote Notarization, Electronic Notarization
DocMagic eNotary (Total eClose)IPEN, RON, Digital CertificateNot on this listNot on this listNot on this listRemote Notarization, Electronic Notarization
Epic River eNotaryIPEN, RON, Digital CertificateListedListede-notary, RONNot on this list

What the software supplies, and what you bring

An electronic act needs three things besides the session: a journal entry, a digital certificate that makes the document tamper-evident, and your electronic seal (what the seal must show is set out in electronic notary seal requirements). Some tools hand you all three on sign-up; others assume you arrive with a certificate bought from a certificate authority. That difference decides your start-up cost and how easily you can move platforms later: a certificate one platform issues may not be accepted by another (OneNotary, for one, does not take certificates issued by other RON providers).

Kansas puts it plainly: to use a RON platform you must obtain a digital certificate, and providers "may provide a digital certificate or may provide direction about how to obtain one" (Kansas Secretary of State, read 2026-10-22). The Kansas list even marks which providers supply a certificate or a journal, in the column below.

Read from each vendor's own pages and the Kansas list on . Only tools an independent notary can run are shown; an employer's tool comes with the employer's kit.
ToolJournal kept by the platformDigital certificateKansas lists it forWhat you bring
ProofMeetsIssued by the platformRONNothing for the certificate or seal: it issues both and does not take ones bought from other vendors.
Secured SigningMeetsIssued by the platformIPEN, RON, Digital CertificateNothing for the certificate: it issues X.509 certificates, IdenTrust Federal Bridge ones where a state requires them.
SIGNiXMeetsIssued by the platformIPEN, RON, Digital CertificateNothing for the certificate: its RON plans include an X.509 certificate and an eNotary journal.
OneNotaryMeetsYou bring your ownRON, IPENYour own digital certificate (it names IdenTrust); certificates issued by other RON providers are not supported.
NotaryCamMeetsYou bring your ownRON, IPENA current digital certificate and a RON notary seal, both asked of independent notaries.
Online Notary CenterMeetsYou bring your ownNot on the Kansas listYour own IdenTrust digital certificate: it partners with IdenTrust and does not accept certificates from other vendors.
BlueNotaryMeetscheck with the vendorIPEN, RON, Digital CertificateAsk whether your plan includes the certificate: it encrypts the notary's .p12 certificate into each document.
ProNotaryMeetscheck with the vendorRONIts plans include IdenTrust X.509 certificate vouchers; ask how the certificate is applied.
NotaryLivecheck with the vendorcheck with the vendorRON, IPEN, Electronic journalAsk about the certificate and the journal: neither is described on the pages read.
SnapdocsNot statedcheck with the vendorRON, IPENCheck the journal: its notary FAQ lists one among the tools you may need, and says a certificate must come from Proof, NotaryCam or Snapdocs RON.

For the pieces you buy yourself, see digital certificate providers, electronic seal providers and electronic notary journals. Whichever tool keeps the recording, Kansas, Nebraska and Pennsylvania each set 10 years for it; the retention guide has the cites.

Each tool, one page

The same requirements, with the vendor's own words behind each mark and the state lists it is on.

For your own signers

BlueNotary

A browser-based RON, IPEN and eClosing platform with a Notary Pro plan for independent notaries and an open-call network that passes BlueNotary-sourced signings to notaries.

A solo notary who wants to serve their own clients and also pick up platform-sourced open calls, with the journal and recordings kept by the platform.

Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
Meets
Has an in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) product run on a tablet.
Electronic journal kept by the platform
Meets
Keeps an electronic notary journal that the notary can export from the Journal section.
Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
Meets
Says the notary's digital certificate (a .p12 file) is encrypted into every exported document, with PKI encryption.
Recording retained for the state's period
Meets
Says journal entries and session records are kept "for at least 10 years from the date of the notarization" unless a state sets a longer period.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA

BlueNotary's own site

OneNotary

A RON and IPEN platform with a free notary account for inviting your own clients, plus flat-rate general notary work assignments for approved notaries.

A solo notary who already holds a digital certificate and wants to invite their own clients, with the platform keeping the journal and video.

Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
Meets
Its help center has an IPEN section with a notary onboarding process.
Electronic journal kept by the platform
Meets
Lists an electronic journal as included for notaries.
Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
Meets
The notary uploads their own digital certificate (it names IdenTrust) to digitally stamp notarizations; it does not support certificates issued by other RON providers.
Recording retained for the state's period
Meets
Its notary plans list "10 years storage of a session video"; check the term for your plan with the vendor.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA

OneNotary's own site

NotaryLive

A RON platform that lets notaries serve their own clients on free RON software and, by invitation, take sessions from NotaryLive's general customer pool; it also sells eClose and IPEN for real estate.

A notary who wants to start serving their own clients online and may later be invited to take platform sessions.

Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
Meets
Offers in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) for on-site signings.
Electronic journal kept by the platform
check with the vendor
No notary journal described on the vendor pages read; check with the vendor.
Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
check with the vendor
Says it embeds security features into the document; the digital certificate is not described on the pages read. Check with the vendor.
Recording retained for the state's period
Not stated
Lists "Online Storage of Session Records" but no retention period on the pages read; check with the vendor.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA

NotaryLive's own site

NotaryCam

A remote and in-person electronic notarization platform, backed by Stewart Title, that licenses its software to independent notaries and businesses and also runs its own contract notary service.

An independent notary who wants licensed RON software with long journal and video retention, or a notary looking for general or loan-signing work on a platform's own team.

Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
Meets
Its homepage says it offers e-signatures, RON and IPEN (in-person electronic notarization).
Electronic journal kept by the platform
Meets
Lists notary journal retention alongside video retention for licensed independent notaries.
Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
check with the vendor
Asks independent notaries to provide a current digital certificate and a RON notary seal; how the certificate is applied is not described, check with the vendor.
Recording retained for the state's period
Meets
The independent-notary page lists a "10-year minimum video and notary journal retention"; check the term still applies when you sign.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, LA, MD, MO, NE, PA

NotaryCam's own site

Online Notary Center

A RON, IPEN and eSign platform for notary businesses: the notary invites their own clients by link and passcode and bills them directly.

A solo notary who wants a simple RON setup with a free seal, a platform journal and long video storage.

Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
Meets
Offers in-person electronic notarizations alongside RON and eSign.
Electronic journal kept by the platform
Meets
Gives onboarded notaries full access to an electronic journal.
Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
Meets
Its Texas page has the notary buy an IdenTrust digital certificate, which attaches to the notarized document and makes it tamper-evident; it partners with IdenTrust and does not accept certificates from other vendors.
Recording retained for the state's period
Meets
Lists "10 year video storage" with all notarizations; check that this covers your state's period.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, LA, MD, MO, NE, PA

Online Notary Center's own site

Secured Signing

A digital signature and RON platform with plans for individual notaries, in-house notaries, signing services and title companies, plus IPEN and an outsource notary queue.

An individual notary who wants the platform to issue the X.509 certificate and keep video and journal for up to ten years.

Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
Meets
Lists in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) among its notary features.
Electronic journal kept by the platform
Meets
Keeps a digital journal, exportable to PDF or Excel and stored for up to 10 years.
Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
Meets
Issues X.509 certificates (with IdenTrust Federal Bridge certificates where a state requires them) and calls its PKI signing tamper-evident.
Recording retained for the state's period
check with the vendor
Says "We store the video for up to 10 years": a ceiling, not a minimum, where a state asks for at least ten. Ask the vendor to confirm the term in writing.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
KS, MD, MO, PA

Secured Signing's own site

Snapdocs

A mortgage closing platform with three RON products (Snapdocs RON, Notary Connect and eClosing) and a free Notary Connect Network that passes mobile and RON signings to independent notaries.

A notary signing agent who wants loan-signing jobs from title companies and lenders, or a settlement office running RON, IPEN and mobile signings in one place.

Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
Meets
Snapdocs RON covers eSign, in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) and RON in one workflow.
Electronic journal kept by the platform
Not stated
A platform journal is not described on the pages read; its notary FAQ lists an electronic journal among the tools a notary may need to obtain.
Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
check with the vendor
Its notary FAQ says a RON notary's digital certificate from a provider must come from Proof, NotaryCam or Snapdocs RON; how Snapdocs RON issues or applies it is not described. Check with the vendor.
Recording retained for the state's period
Not stated
No retention period on the pages read; check with the vendor.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA

Snapdocs's own site

Proof

An identity and online notarization platform (formerly Notarize) with its own on-demand Notarize Network and a separate account type for notaries who run their own RON business.

A notary in one of the states Proof lists for notary-sourced transactions who wants the platform to keep the journal and recordings, or who wants to join an on-demand network.

Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
Not stated
No in-person electronic notarization product found on the pages read.
Electronic journal kept by the platform
Meets
Keeps a notary journal on the platform; a separate help article covers exporting it.
Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
Meets
Issues each notary a Proof Digital Certificate plus a free electronic seal; its title FAQ says it does not support certificates or seals bought from other vendors.
Recording retained for the state's period
Meets
Says recordings and the journal are "managed and stored by Proof for your state's minimum record retention period".
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, MD, MO, NE, PA

Proof's own site

SIGNiX

A cloud digital-signature company whose RON product (eNotaryDoX) gives a notary X.509 certificate signing, an eNotary journal, signer authentication and stored video.

A notary or title office that wants standards-based digital signatures and its own notaries in control of the session.

Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
Not stated
In-person electronic notarization is not described on the vendor pages read.
Electronic journal kept by the platform
Meets
Its RON plans include an eNotary Journal.
Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
Meets
Plans include an X.509 digital certificate; it says its standards-based digital signatures protect the document from tampering.
Recording retained for the state's period
Meets
Its RON plans list "Video Storage (10 years)"; check the term with the vendor.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA

SIGNiX's own site

ProNotary

A browser-based RON workspace for independent notaries, signing services and businesses notarizing in-house; it says it provides no work or leads.

An independent notary or signing service that wants a private RON workspace for its own clients, with no platform marketing to those clients.

Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
Not stated
In-person electronic notarization is not described on the page read.
Electronic journal kept by the platform
Meets
Captures an electronic notary journal for every RON transaction, with export.
Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
check with the vendor
Its plans include IdenTrust X.509 certificate vouchers; how the certificate is applied is not described. Check with the vendor.
Recording retained for the state's period
Not stated
Says transaction data is stored on the account's private dedicated server; no retention period on the page read. Check with the vendor.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, PA

ProNotary's own site

Through an employer, lender or title office

Stavvy

A digital mortgage and real estate closing platform with RON, IPEN, eSign, eNote and eVault tools for lenders, title and settlement agents.

A title or settlement notary running hybrid or full eClosings for lenders.

Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
Meets
Offers in-person electronic notarization, with signer and notary on separate devices.
Electronic journal kept by the platform
check with the vendor
Its IPEN page lists electronic notary journals; a RON journal is not described on the RON page. Check with the vendor.
Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
Meets
Uses digital certificates and tamper seals on closing documents.
Recording retained for the state's period
Not stated
No retention period on the pages read; check with the vendor.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA

Stavvy's own site

OneSpan Notary

OneSpan's notarization product for organizations, covering RON and in-person electronic notarization on top of its e-signature platform.

A notary employed by a bank, insurer, auto lender or law firm whose administrators onboard notaries centrally and who holds their own X.509 certificate.

Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
Meets
Offers OneSpan Notary In-Person Electronic Notarization (IPEN).
Electronic journal kept by the platform
Meets
The notary records session information in an eJournal.
Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
Meets
The notary uploads their own PKI X.509 digital certificate; digital signatures after each signature make the document tamper-evident.
Recording retained for the state's period
Not stated
No retention period on the page read; check with the vendor.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
KS, LA, MD, MO

OneSpan Notary's own site

Simplifile eSign Events (ICE)

ICE Mortgage Technology's digital closing tool in which a notary runs hybrid, IPEN and RON signing events, with county-level eNotary eligibility data from Simplifile eRecording.

A settlement-agent or title notary who already eRecords through Simplifile and closes lender or cash deals.

Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
Meets
Supports hybrid, in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) and RON events.
Electronic journal kept by the platform
Meets
Lists a post-closing process with a notary journal.
Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
Not stated
Digital certificate or tamper-evident sealing is not described on the pages read.
Recording retained for the state's period
Not stated
No retention period on the pages read; check with the vendor.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA

Simplifile eSign Events (ICE)'s own site

Clear Sign (Rocket Close)

Rocket Close's mortgage eClosing platform (formerly Nexsys/Amrock Clear Sign) supporting hybrid closings, IPEN and RON for lenders, settlement agents and notaries.

A notary signing agent closing Rocket Close mortgage files.

Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
Meets
Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as hybrid and RON closings.
Electronic journal kept by the platform
Not stated
A notary journal is not described on the page read.
Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
Not stated
Digital certificate or tamper-evident sealing is not described on the page read.
Recording retained for the state's period
Not stated
No retention period on the page read; check with the vendor.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA

Clear Sign (Rocket Close)'s own site

DocMagic eNotary (Total eClose)

A mortgage document provider whose Total eClose platform includes its own RON and IPEN technology (eNotary) for lenders and settlement service providers.

A settlement or title notary closing loans for lenders that draw documents in DocMagic.

Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
Meets
Offers its own in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) and RON technology.
Electronic journal kept by the platform
Not stated
Not described on the pages read; check with the vendor.
Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
Not stated
Not described on the pages read; check with the vendor.
Recording retained for the state's period
Not stated
Not described on the pages read; check with the vendor.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO

DocMagic eNotary (Total eClose)'s own site

Epic River eNotary

A remote and in-person eNotary tool sold to banks and credit unions as part of Epic River's lending platform, run by the institution's in-house notaries.

A notary employed by a bank or credit union that notarizes loan and deposit documents for its own customers.

Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
Meets
The page offers remote and in-person eNotary.
Electronic journal kept by the platform
Not stated
Not described on the page read; check with the vendor.
Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
Not stated
Not described on the page read; check with the vendor.
Recording retained for the state's period
Not stated
Not described on the page read; check with the vendor.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, LA, MD, MO, NE, PA

Epic River eNotary's own site

How we compared

Questions notaries ask

Is in-person electronic notarization the same as remote online notarization?

No. In an in-person electronic notarization the signer appears physically before you and signs an electronic document. In remote online notarization the signer appears over audio-video and the session is recorded. Some software does both; your state may approve a tool for one and not the other. The RON and IPEN guide sets the two side by side.

Do I need a separate approval to notarize in person electronically?

It depends on your state. Nebraska runs a separate in-person electronic notary registration, with its own course, exam and list of approved providers, beside the online notary registration. Kansas keeps one provider list that marks each provider for IPEN, RON or both. Pennsylvania asks you to notify the Department of State of each technology before electronic or remote acts.

Does the software give me the digital certificate?

Some tools issue it: Proof, Secured Signing and SIGNiX say so on their own pages. Others expect you to bring one: OneNotary and OneSpan ask you to upload your own, and NotaryCam asks independent notaries for a current certificate and a seal. Kansas says providers may supply a certificate or direct you to one. If you are buying your own, see digital certificate providers.

Why is a tool on one state's in-person list but not another's?

Each list is a separate approval by that state, so the same tool can be approved for IPEN in Kansas and for RON only in Pennsylvania, or sit on Nebraska's online list but not its in-person list. The list of the state that commissioned you is the one that counts.

Can I use one tool for remote signings and a different one in person?

Where your state allows more than one provider, yes, but each tool must be approved for the act you use it for, your notice to the state may need to name each one, and your journal has to stay complete across both. Check your state's rule before you split your work; the guide to using more than one platform walks through it.