Skip to content
Juratkit
Menu

RON and eClosing platforms for title and escrow notaries, compared

For the notary at a title or escrow office, or the one who closes for them: which eClosing and RON platforms run real estate closings, which closing types each supports, and whether you can use it without the office's or the lender's account. Every cell comes from the vendor's own pages or a state's own list. Platforms for solo and signing-agent work are compared under RON platforms.

Tables last checked

Best for a title office running hybrid, IPEN and full RON closings

Stavvy is built for hybrid and full eClosings for title, settlement and lenders, offers in-person electronic notarization, says it is MISMO certified, and is on 8 of the 8 state lists we read; ask how long it keeps recordings.

Stavvy

Best if your office already eRecords through Simplifile

Simplifile eSign Events (ICE) runs hybrid, IPEN and RON signing events with county-level eNotary eligibility data, and says it is a MISMO RON certified provider.

Simplifile eSign Events (ICE)

Best for a title notary who also notarizes for their own clients

SIGNiX sells RON to title agencies for their own notaries and per notary user, with an eNotary journal, an X.509 certificate and video storage it states as ten years.

SIGNiX

Art Deco illustration of a tall stack of closing documents between two document traysFig. 1
A closing package between two screens: the office's platform and the notary's are not always the same one.

Three ways a closing gets notarized

A title or escrow notary meets three kinds of closing, and the platform question is different for each. In practice the lender and the title underwriter decide which kind a file may close as; the notary's commission decides who may perform it. The vendors below name the three in the same words: Simplifile calls a hybrid “ink notarization with borrower eSign”, and Stavvy sells “hybrid and full eClosing” to title and settlement agents.

  1. 01

    Hybrid closing

    Who is in the room
    Notary and signer at the same table.
    The notarized pages
    The notarized pages are signed and notarized in ink on paper; the borrower eSigns the rest of the package.
    What you keep
    No remote session, so nothing to record; your paper journal entry as usual.
  2. 02

    In-person electronic (IPEN)

    Who is in the room
    Notary and signer at the same table, on a tablet or laptop.
    The notarized pages
    Every page, the notarized ones included, is signed and notarized electronically.
    What you keep
    Not a remote act; your state's electronic notarization rules apply, not its RON rules.
  3. 03

    Full RON closing

    Who is in the room
    Notary and signer apart, on an audio-video session.
    The notarized pages
    Signed and notarized electronically, after the platform's identity proofing.
    What you keep
    The session is recorded, and the recording and journal are kept for your state's period.

Only the third is a remote online notarization, so only the third needs a platform your state accepts for RON. A hybrid needs no RON platform at all, and an IPEN closing needs an electronic notarization tool your state allows. The difference is laid out in RON vs IPEN; for the loan package itself, see RON for loan signings.

Two kinds of eClosing platform

“eClosing platform” covers two different products, and a title notary meets both. The first is closing software sold to the lender, the title office or the settlement agent: it builds the package, routes it to the notary, and hands the signed file back. The notary works inside the office's account and does not buy it. The second is a notary's own RON platform that also sells a closing product, so the same account can run an office's closings and a notary's own clients.

7 platforms

A notary can sign up alone

The vendor's own page says an independent notary can open an account and bring their own signers. An in-house notary can use it without the office buying anything.

8 platforms

The office or lender holds the account

Sold to lenders, title offices and settlement agents. The pages we read do not say a notary can use it alone; you get access through your employer or the lender on the file.

If your work is mostly loan signings for signing services rather than a title desk, read RON platforms for notary signing agents instead.

The comparison tables

The columns are what a closing and the RON rule ask of a platform. A check means the vendor's own page says it; an em dash means the page we read does not mention it; “check with the vendor” means the page is unclear. The last column shows which of the 8 state lists we read carry the platform, as in state-approved RON platforms.

A notary can sign up alone

7 RON platforms with a closing or title product whose own pages say an independent notary can open an account, read on . Sorted by the number of state lists each is on.
PlatformSupports eClosingSupports IPENIdentity proofingSession recordedRecording retainedPlatform journalTamper-evident technologyState lists
BlueNotaryMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsCO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
NotaryLiveMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsNot statedcheck with the vendorcheck with the vendorCO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
SIGNiXMeetsNot statedMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsCO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
SnapdocsMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsNot statedNot statedcheck with the vendorCO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
NotaryCamMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetscheck with the vendorCO, KS, LA, MD, MO, NE, PA
ProofMeetsNot statedMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsCO, KS, MD, MO, NE, PA
Secured SigningMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetscheck with the vendorMeetsMeetsKS, MD, MO, PA

The office or lender holds the account

8 closing platforms sold to lenders, title offices and settlement agents, read on . Rows with no check are pages that do not describe the notary side; ask the vendor.
PlatformSupports eClosingSupports IPENIdentity proofingSession recordedRecording retainedPlatform journalTamper-evident technologyState lists
Clear Sign (Rocket Close)MeetsMeetsNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedCO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
Simplifile eSign Events (ICE)MeetsMeetscheck with the vendorMeetsNot statedMeetsNot statedCO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
StavvyMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsNot statedcheck with the vendorMeetsCO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
Expedite (ICE, formerly DocVerify)MeetsNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedCO, KS, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
Blend CloseMeetsNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedCO, KS, MD, MO, NE, PA
DocMagic eNotary (Total eClose)MeetsMeetsNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedCO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO
Pavasocheck with the vendorcheck with the vendorcheck with the vendorcheck with the vendorcheck with the vendorcheck with the vendorcheck with the vendorKS, LA, MD, MO, NE, PA
QualiaMeetsNot statedNot statedMeetscheck with the vendorMeetscheck with the vendorKS, MD, MO, PA

Oregon's real-estate-only group

Oregon publishes no approved list, but its electronic notarization page sorts the vendors it names into two groups. After the general group it says: “Vendors that only allow for notarization of real estate transactions are:” and names five. It closes with “This is not a complete list. A web search may bring up more vendors.”

For a title notary the second group is the useful one: these are the platforms built around a real estate file, which, as Oregon reads them, notarize real estate transactions only. Three of the five are compared on this page. Snapdocs is the odd one out: Oregon puts it in the real-estate-only group, while Snapdocs' own page offers its RON product to notaries for their own clients. Both can be true at once; ask Snapdocs what an Oregon commission may notarize on it. Coviance and Digital Delivery are not compared here; we did not read their pages for this comparison.

The names Oregon's page groups as real-estate-only, and the closing platforms it lists as commonly used, against each vendor's own page. Oregon's page read ; it carries no date.
Name on Oregon's pageOregon's groupOwn signersLists
CovianceReal estate onlyNot read for this page; check with the vendor.On none of the lists we read
Digital DeliveryReal estate onlyNot read for this page; check with the vendor.On none of the lists we read
Rocket CloseReal estate onlyNot stated

Built for Rocket Close's own mortgage closings; use for a notary's own clients is not described.

CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
SnapdocsReal estate onlyMeets

Says notaries who want software for their own clients can use Snapdocs RON as a paid platform for RON, IPEN and eSign.

CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
StavvyReal estate onlycheck with the vendor

Sold to title, settlement and lending businesses; use by an independent notary is not described. Check with the vendor.

CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
BluenotaryCommonly usedMeets

Notary Pro users can invite their own signers and bill them outside BlueNotary.

CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
NotaryCamCommonly usedMeets

Its software for independent notaries lets the notary schedule their own appointments and complete RON transactions for their own clients.

CO, KS, LA, MD, MO, NE, PA
NotaryLiveCommonly usedMeets

Every notary level includes "RON software to notarize for your own customers".

CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
ProofCommonly usedMeets

Notary-sourced transaction accounts let a notary send transactions to their own clients, in the states Proof lists; check your state is on that list.

CO, KS, MD, MO, NE, PA
Secured SigningCommonly usedMeets

Sells RON to individual notaries to verify and notarize for their own clients.

KS, MD, MO, PA
SIGNiXCommonly usedMeets

Sells RON plans per notary user, and its directory lists independent notary businesses that use it.

CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA

Can an in-house notary use it alone?

An in-house title notary asks a question a solo notary never does: if the office stops paying, or I move to another office, what happens to my journal and recordings? The records are the notary's duty under the commission, but on an office-held platform they sit in the office's account. A notary who keeps both an office account and one of their own is running two platforms at once, which using more than one RON platform walks through.

On an office-held platform

Qualia is the plain case. Its notary terms say notary access runs under the title company's agreement with Qualia; use by an independent notary is not described. Check with the vendor. On records, its journal policy says it maintains recordings and journal entries "in accordance with industry standards" and may store them after termination where law requires; no period is given. Check with the vendor.

On a notary-held platform the office pays for

Some notary platforms sell a title plan on top of the individual one. Proof's title FAQ, for example, says it sells a Close product for real estate closings and lets Title Pro accounts onboard their in-house notaries. The same FAQ is the place to read the certificate catch: Proof issues each notary a Proof Digital Certificate plus a free electronic seal; its title FAQ says it does not support certificates or seals bought from other vendors.

Each platform, read against the closing

Each card quotes the vendor's own words on the closing questions, softened where the page was unclear. On an office account, ask who holds the recordings if the office leaves the platform (what a recording must hold is in RON session recording requirements), and set any storage term beside your state's period in RON recording retention by state.

BlueNotary

A browser-based RON, IPEN and eClosing platform with a Notary Pro plan for independent notaries and an open-call network that passes BlueNotary-sourced signings to notaries.

A solo notary who wants to serve their own clients and also pick up platform-sourced open calls, with the journal and recordings kept by the platform.

Supports eClosing / title workflows
Meets
Sells an eClosing product for buyers, sellers and lenders and says it is approved for eClosing by title underwriters.
Independent notary can bring their own signers
Meets
Notary Pro users can invite their own signers and bill them outside BlueNotary.
Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
Meets
Has an in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) product run on a tablet.
Recording retained for the state's period
Meets
Says journal entries and session records are kept "for at least 10 years from the date of the notarization" unless a state sets a longer period.
Electronic journal kept by the platform
Meets
Keeps an electronic notary journal that the notary can export from the Journal section.
Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
Meets
Says the notary's digital certificate (a .p12 file) is encrypted into every exported document, with PKI encryption.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA

BlueNotary's own site

NotaryLive

A RON platform that lets notaries serve their own clients on free RON software and, by invitation, take sessions from NotaryLive's general customer pool; it also sells eClose and IPEN for real estate.

A notary who wants to start serving their own clients online and may later be invited to take platform sessions.

Supports eClosing / title workflows
Meets
Sells eClose, "a digital platform for real estate closings", to lenders and title.
Independent notary can bring their own signers
Meets
Every notary level includes "RON software to notarize for your own customers".
Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
Meets
Offers in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) for on-site signings.
Recording retained for the state's period
Not stated
Lists "Online Storage of Session Records" but no retention period on the pages read; check with the vendor.
Electronic journal kept by the platform
check with the vendor
No notary journal described on the vendor pages read; check with the vendor.
Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
check with the vendor
Says it embeds security features into the document; the digital certificate is not described on the pages read. Check with the vendor.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA

NotaryLive's own site

SIGNiX

A cloud digital-signature company whose RON product (eNotaryDoX) gives a notary X.509 certificate signing, an eNotary journal, signer authentication and stored video.

A notary or title office that wants standards-based digital signatures and its own notaries in control of the session.

Supports eClosing / title workflows
Meets
Sells RON to title agencies so they can run closings with their own notaries.
Independent notary can bring their own signers
Meets
Sells RON plans per notary user, and its directory lists independent notary businesses that use it.
Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
Not stated
In-person electronic notarization is not described on the vendor pages read.
Recording retained for the state's period
Meets
Its RON plans list "Video Storage (10 years)"; check the term with the vendor.
Electronic journal kept by the platform
Meets
Its RON plans include an eNotary Journal.
Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
Meets
Plans include an X.509 digital certificate; it says its standards-based digital signatures protect the document from tampering.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA

SIGNiX's own site

Snapdocs

A mortgage closing platform with three RON products (Snapdocs RON, Notary Connect and eClosing) and a free Notary Connect Network that passes mobile and RON signings to independent notaries.

A notary signing agent who wants loan-signing jobs from title companies and lenders, or a settlement office running RON, IPEN and mobile signings in one place.

Supports eClosing / title workflows
Meets
Sells eClosing to lenders and connects lenders with title branches on one platform.
Independent notary can bring their own signers
Meets
Says notaries who want software for their own clients can use Snapdocs RON as a paid platform for RON, IPEN and eSign.
Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
Meets
Snapdocs RON covers eSign, in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) and RON in one workflow.
Recording retained for the state's period
Not stated
No retention period on the pages read; check with the vendor.
Electronic journal kept by the platform
Not stated
A platform journal is not described on the pages read; its notary FAQ lists an electronic journal among the tools a notary may need to obtain.
Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
check with the vendor
Its notary FAQ says a RON notary's digital certificate from a provider must come from Proof, NotaryCam or Snapdocs RON; how Snapdocs RON issues or applies it is not described. Check with the vendor.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA

Snapdocs's own site

NotaryCam

A remote and in-person electronic notarization platform, backed by Stewart Title, that licenses its software to independent notaries and businesses and also runs its own contract notary service.

An independent notary who wants licensed RON software with long journal and video retention, or a notary looking for general or loan-signing work on a platform's own team.

Supports eClosing / title workflows
Meets
Offers an eClose product and recruits real estate signing agents for loan signings.
Independent notary can bring their own signers
Meets
Its software for independent notaries lets the notary schedule their own appointments and complete RON transactions for their own clients.
Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
Meets
Its homepage says it offers e-signatures, RON and IPEN (in-person electronic notarization).
Recording retained for the state's period
Meets
The independent-notary page lists a "10-year minimum video and notary journal retention"; check the term still applies when you sign.
Electronic journal kept by the platform
Meets
Lists notary journal retention alongside video retention for licensed independent notaries.
Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
check with the vendor
Asks independent notaries to provide a current digital certificate and a RON notary seal; how the certificate is applied is not described, check with the vendor.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, LA, MD, MO, NE, PA

NotaryCam's own site

Proof

An identity and online notarization platform (formerly Notarize) with its own on-demand Notarize Network and a separate account type for notaries who run their own RON business.

A notary in one of the states Proof lists for notary-sourced transactions who wants the platform to keep the journal and recordings, or who wants to join an on-demand network.

Supports eClosing / title workflows
Meets
Sells a Close product for real estate closings and lets Title Pro accounts onboard their in-house notaries.
Independent notary can bring their own signers
Meets
Notary-sourced transaction accounts let a notary send transactions to their own clients, in the states Proof lists; check your state is on that list.
Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
Not stated
No in-person electronic notarization product found on the pages read.
Recording retained for the state's period
Meets
Says recordings and the journal are "managed and stored by Proof for your state's minimum record retention period".
Electronic journal kept by the platform
Meets
Keeps a notary journal on the platform; a separate help article covers exporting it.
Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
Meets
Issues each notary a Proof Digital Certificate plus a free electronic seal; its title FAQ says it does not support certificates or seals bought from other vendors.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, MD, MO, NE, PA

Proof's own site

Secured Signing

A digital signature and RON platform with plans for individual notaries, in-house notaries, signing services and title companies, plus IPEN and an outsource notary queue.

An individual notary who wants the platform to issue the X.509 certificate and keep video and journal for up to ten years.

Supports eClosing / title workflows
Meets
Has a RON plan for title agencies and underwriters; it says it is MISMO certified.
Independent notary can bring their own signers
Meets
Sells RON to individual notaries to verify and notarize for their own clients.
Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
Meets
Lists in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) among its notary features.
Recording retained for the state's period
check with the vendor
Says "We store the video for up to 10 years": a ceiling, not a minimum, where a state asks for at least ten. Ask the vendor to confirm the term in writing.
Electronic journal kept by the platform
Meets
Keeps a digital journal, exportable to PDF or Excel and stored for up to 10 years.
Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
Meets
Issues X.509 certificates (with IdenTrust Federal Bridge certificates where a state requires them) and calls its PKI signing tamper-evident.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
KS, MD, MO, PA

Secured Signing's own site

Clear Sign (Rocket Close)

Rocket Close's mortgage eClosing platform (formerly Nexsys/Amrock Clear Sign) supporting hybrid closings, IPEN and RON for lenders, settlement agents and notaries.

A notary signing agent closing Rocket Close mortgage files.

Supports eClosing / title workflows
Meets
Built as an eClosing platform for mortgage signings; it says leading underwriters and GSEs approve it.
Independent notary can bring their own signers
Not stated
Built for Rocket Close's own mortgage closings; use for a notary's own clients is not described.
Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
Meets
Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as hybrid and RON closings.
Recording retained for the state's period
Not stated
No retention period on the page read; check with the vendor.
Electronic journal kept by the platform
Not stated
A notary journal is not described on the page read.
Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
Not stated
Digital certificate or tamper-evident sealing is not described on the page read.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA

Clear Sign (Rocket Close)'s own site

Simplifile eSign Events (ICE)

ICE Mortgage Technology's digital closing tool in which a notary runs hybrid, IPEN and RON signing events, with county-level eNotary eligibility data from Simplifile eRecording.

A settlement-agent or title notary who already eRecords through Simplifile and closes lender or cash deals.

Supports eClosing / title workflows
Meets
A digital closing platform for agent-driven (cash and seller) and lender-driven transactions; it says it is a MISMO RON certified provider.
Independent notary can bring their own signers
check with the vendor
A settlement agent creates the event, adds signers and assigns a notary; use by an independent notary for their own clients is not described.
Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
Meets
Supports hybrid, in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) and RON events.
Recording retained for the state's period
Not stated
No retention period on the pages read; check with the vendor.
Electronic journal kept by the platform
Meets
Lists a post-closing process with a notary journal.
Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
Not stated
Digital certificate or tamper-evident sealing is not described on the pages read.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA

Simplifile eSign Events (ICE)'s own site

Stavvy

A digital mortgage and real estate closing platform with RON, IPEN, eSign, eNote and eVault tools for lenders, title and settlement agents.

A title or settlement notary running hybrid or full eClosings for lenders.

Supports eClosing / title workflows
Meets
Built for hybrid and full eClosings for title, settlement and lenders; it says it is MISMO certified.
Independent notary can bring their own signers
check with the vendor
Sold to title, settlement and lending businesses; use by an independent notary is not described. Check with the vendor.
Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
Meets
Offers in-person electronic notarization, with signer and notary on separate devices.
Recording retained for the state's period
Not stated
No retention period on the pages read; check with the vendor.
Electronic journal kept by the platform
check with the vendor
Its IPEN page lists electronic notary journals; a RON journal is not described on the RON page. Check with the vendor.
Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
Meets
Uses digital certificates and tamper seals on closing documents.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA

Stavvy's own site

Expedite (ICE, formerly DocVerify)

ICE Mortgage Technology's web-based document and closing fulfillment suite for lenders, settlement agents and title underwriters; the states list it under DocVerify and Black Knight names, and docverify.com did not load on .

A notary at a settlement agent that closes ICE lender files; check which ICE product now carries the notary features.

Supports eClosing / title workflows
Meets
A closing fulfillment suite that connects lenders, settlement agents and title underwriters.
Independent notary can bring their own signers
Not stated
Not described on the page read.
Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
Not stated
Not described on the page read.
Recording retained for the state's period
Not stated
Not described on the page read.
Electronic journal kept by the platform
Not stated
Not described on the page read.
Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
Not stated
Not described on the page read.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA

Expedite (ICE, formerly DocVerify)'s own site

Blend Close

The closing module of Blend's mortgage suite for lenders, offering hybrid closings, eNotes and remote online notarization with an online notary.

A notary closing loans for a lender that runs its mortgages on Blend; it is lender-side software, not a notary's own platform.

Supports eClosing / title workflows
Meets
Offers hybrid closings, eNote closings and RON closings for mortgage lenders.
Independent notary can bring their own signers
Not stated
Sold to mortgage lenders; use by an independent notary for their own clients is not described.
Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
Not stated
Not described on the page read; check with the vendor.
Recording retained for the state's period
Not stated
Not described on the page read; check with the vendor.
Electronic journal kept by the platform
Not stated
Not described on the page read; check with the vendor.
Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
Not stated
Not described on the page read; check with the vendor.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, MD, MO, NE, PA

Blend Close's own site

DocMagic eNotary (Total eClose)

A mortgage document provider whose Total eClose platform includes its own RON and IPEN technology (eNotary) for lenders and settlement service providers.

A settlement or title notary closing loans for lenders that draw documents in DocMagic.

Supports eClosing / title workflows
Meets
Total eClose is a digital closing platform for borrowers, lenders and title agents; it says it is MISMO certified for eClosing and RON.
Independent notary can bring their own signers
Not stated
Sold to lenders and settlement service providers; use by an independent notary is not described.
Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
Meets
Offers its own in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) and RON technology.
Recording retained for the state's period
Not stated
Not described on the pages read; check with the vendor.
Electronic journal kept by the platform
Not stated
Not described on the pages read; check with the vendor.
Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
Not stated
Not described on the pages read; check with the vendor.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO

DocMagic eNotary (Total eClose)'s own site

Pavaso

An eClosing and RON provider that the state lists name as Pavaso (Guardian Consumer Services); its domain now redirects to a Pavaso page on Old Republic Title's site, which did not load on .

Check with the vendor; its own pages could not be read this run.

Supports eClosing / title workflows
check with the vendor
pavaso.com redirects to oldrepublictitle.com/pavaso, which did not load on ; nothing could be read from the vendor. Check with the vendor.
Independent notary can bring their own signers
check with the vendor
pavaso.com redirects to oldrepublictitle.com/pavaso, which did not load on ; nothing could be read from the vendor. Check with the vendor.
Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
check with the vendor
pavaso.com redirects to oldrepublictitle.com/pavaso, which did not load on ; nothing could be read from the vendor. Check with the vendor.
Recording retained for the state's period
check with the vendor
pavaso.com redirects to oldrepublictitle.com/pavaso, which did not load on ; nothing could be read from the vendor. Check with the vendor.
Electronic journal kept by the platform
check with the vendor
pavaso.com redirects to oldrepublictitle.com/pavaso, which did not load on ; nothing could be read from the vendor. Check with the vendor.
Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
check with the vendor
pavaso.com redirects to oldrepublictitle.com/pavaso, which did not load on ; nothing could be read from the vendor. Check with the vendor.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
KS, LA, MD, MO, NE, PA

Pavaso's own site

Qualia

Title, escrow and closing software whose web-based Notary Solution lets a title company's notaries run remote notarizations inside Qualia; the RON page listed by the states now redirects to Qualia's homepage.

A notary at a title or escrow company that already runs its files in Qualia.

Supports eClosing / title workflows
Meets
Sells cloud title, escrow and eClosing products to title and escrow companies.
Independent notary can bring their own signers
check with the vendor
Notary access runs under the title company's agreement with Qualia; use by an independent notary is not described. Check with the vendor.
Supports in-person electronic notarization (IPEN) as well as RON
Not stated
In-person electronic notarization is not described on the pages read.
Recording retained for the state's period
check with the vendor
Says it maintains recordings and journal entries "in accordance with industry standards" and may store them after termination where law requires; no period is given. Check with the vendor.
Electronic journal kept by the platform
Meets
Stores the notary's electronic notarial journal and supports export of entries and recordings.
Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
check with the vendor
Its terms make the notary "solely responsible for meeting any digital certificate requirements"; check how a certificate is applied with the vendor.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
KS, MD, MO, PA

Qualia's own site

Before the office's first RON closing

Much of a remote closing is decided before the session: whether the lender takes it, whether the county records it, whether your certificate and electronic seal work on the office's platform. Settle the questions below with the people who own each answer, then print the page for the file. Your own setup, outside any one office, is the RON readiness checklist.

How we compared

If you take signings from the platforms rather than bring them, read RON platforms that send notaries signings.

Questions notaries ask

What is an eClosing platform?

Software that runs a real estate closing electronically: it builds the package, gets it signed and notarized, and returns the file. Some are sold to lenders and title offices and the notary works in their account (8 on this page); others are a notary's own RON platform with a closing product added (7 on this page).

Can an in-house title notary use a RON platform without the office's account?

Only on a platform whose own pages say an independent notary can sign up and bring their own signers; 7 of the platforms here say so. On the office-held ones access runs through the employer or the lender. Simplifile is typical: A settlement agent creates the event, adds signers and assigns a notary; use by an independent notary for their own clients is not described. For your own clients outside the office, see RON platforms for a solo notary.

What is the difference between a hybrid closing and a full RON closing?

In a hybrid, the notary and signer sit at the same table and the notarized pages are signed in ink on paper, while the borrower eSigns the rest. In a full RON closing they are apart on a recorded audio-video session and everything is signed and notarized electronically. Only the second needs a RON platform. The in-person electronic middle case is in RON vs IPEN.

Does the platform need to be on my state's approved list for a closing?

Where your state requires a listed platform, a remote closing is no exception: it is a remote act like any other. 8 states publish one we read; state-approved RON platforms sets them side by side. Pennsylvania, for example: A Pennsylvania remote notary must use a remote notarization technology provider approved by the Department of State and must notify the Department of each technology before using it.

Does Oregon have an approved list of RON platforms?

No. Oregon's page names commonly used vendors, a separate group that only allows real estate transactions, and says: “This is not a complete list. A web search may bring up more vendors.” It also says RON providers meeting MISMO standards meet its requirements.

Who approves a platform for a closing: the state, the underwriter or the lender?

All three, for different things. The state decides which platforms a notary may use for a remote act; the title underwriter decides which closings it will insure; the lender decides how its loan may close. Ask the underwriter and the lender before the first file, not on closing day.