Remote online notarization platforms for a solo notary, compared
For an independent notary who brings their own signers: which RON platforms let you serve your own clients, keep the journal and session recording for your state's period, and sit on your state's approved list. Every cell comes from the vendor's own pages or the state's own list. Platforms for other kinds of work are read the same way under RON platforms by use case.
Table last checked
Best for a solo notary with their own signers
ProNotary calls itself a private workspace for your own notarizations, sends no work or leads, and is on 7 of the 8 state lists we read; ask for its retention term in writing.
Best if you want the platform to keep your journal
NotaryCam's independent-notary software lists a ten-year minimum for both the video and the notary journal, the period most states on this page set; you bring your own certificate and seal.
Best for a solo notary in a list state
BlueNotary is on 8 of the 8 state lists we read, lets Notary Pro users bring and bill their own signers, and keeps the journal and recordings for at least ten years.
Fig. 1What a solo notary needs from a platform
A solo notary buys a RON platform for a different reason than a title office or a lender does. You are not equipping a team; you are the whole business. Three things decide whether a platform works for you, and only one of them is the software itself.
You bring your own signers
Many of the platforms on the state lists are sold to organizations: a bank's in-house notaries, a lender's closing desk, an e-signature customer's staff. Their pages rarely say an independent notary can sign up and invite their own clients. We kept the 12 platforms whose own pages say you can, and list the rest further down with the reason each was left out. If you also sign in person on a tablet, the electronic notary software comparison reads the same tools for in-person electronic acts.
Your journal and recording are kept for your state's period
The retention period is the notary's duty, not the vendor's. Missouri puts it this way: Keep the audio and video recording for at least ten years after the transaction. RSMo § 486.1195(2) A platform that keeps the video and journal for you, for at least that long, takes most of the work off your desk. If it cannot, you need your own storage and a habit of downloading every session. Texas sets a shorter period: Keep the recording of the video and audio conference, with a backup, for five years after the date of the notarization. Storage may be contracted to a third party that gives you complete access for the whole retention period.
The platform is on your state's list
8 states publish a list we read in full, and in most of them the rule requires a remote notary to use a platform from that list. If you hold, or plan to add, a commission in a second state, a platform on both lists saves you running two. Our count of providers across the state lists has the full table; the state-approved platform finder answers it for one state. Florida works differently: providers self-certify each year, and RON platforms for Florida notaries shows who has filed.
| State | Recording kept | Journal kept | Rule | Platform list |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Colorado | 10 years | 10 years | C.R.S. §§ 24-21-514.5(9)(c), 24-21-519(1) | Approved list |
| Kansas | 10 years | 10 years | K.S.A. 53-5a15(e) | Approved list |
| Louisiana | Check your state's current rule. | Check your state's current rule. | — | Approved list |
| Maine | 10 years | 10 years | 4 M.R.S. § 1915(11); 29-250 C.M.R. ch. 700, § 6(8)(D) | Approved list |
| Maryland | 10 years | 10 years | Md. Code, State Gov't § 18-214(j)(3); COMAR 01.02.08.07A(7) | Approved list |
| Missouri | 10 years | 10 years | RSMo § 486.1195(2) | Approved list |
| Nebraska | 10 years | 10 years | Neb. Rev. Stat. § 64-409(3) | Approved list |
| Pennsylvania | 10 years | to the county Recorder of Deeds within 30 days | 4 Pa. Code § 167.86(6) | Approved list |
| Florida | 10 years | 10 years | § 117.245(2), (4), Fla. Stat. | Self-certification list |
| Texas | 5 years | 5 years | Tex. Gov't Code § 406.108(a)(6), (c); 1 TAC §§ 87.51(b), 87.54(b) | No list |
| Virginia | 5 years | 5 years | Va. Code § 47.1-14(C)-(D) | No list |
| Washington | 10 years | 10 years | RCW 42.45.280(6); WAC 308-30-330 | No list |
The comparison table
The rows are what the rule and a solo practice ask of a platform, not the features vendors lead with. A check means the vendor's own page says it; an em dash means the page we read does not mention it; “check with the vendor” means the page is unclear. The last column counts the 8 state lists we read. For the journal row in depth, see electronic notary journals, compared.
| Platform | Independent notary can bring their own signersOwn signers | Identity proofing: credential analysis + knowledge-based authenticationIdentity proofing | Audio-video session recordedSession recorded | Recording retained for the state's periodRecording retained | Electronic journal kept by the platformPlatform journal | Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole controlTamper-evident technology | Signer can join from a browser / phoneSigner joins from a browser | Platform sends notaries signings through its own networkSends signings | Approved-platform lists it appears onState lists |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BlueNotary | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA |
| NotaryLive | Meets | Meets | Meets | Not stated | check with the vendor | check with the vendor | Meets | Meets | CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA |
| SIGNiX | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | check with the vendor | CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA |
| Snapdocs | Meets | Meets | Meets | Not stated | Not stated | check with the vendor | Meets | Meets | CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA |
| NotaryCam | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | check with the vendor | Meets | Meets | CO, KS, LA, MD, MO, NE, PA |
| OneNotary | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | CO, KS, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA |
| ProNotary | Meets | Meets | Meets | Not stated | Meets | check with the vendor | Meets | Not stated | CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, PA |
| Online Notary Center | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | Not stated | CO, LA, MD, MO, NE, PA |
| Proof | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | Meets | CO, KS, MD, MO, NE, PA |
| Notary Hub | Meets | Meets | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Meets | Not stated | Meets | KS, MD, MO, NE, PA |
| OnlineNotary.us | Meets | Meets | Meets | Not stated | check with the vendor | check with the vendor | Meets | Meets | LA, MD, MO, PA |
| Secured Signing | Meets | Meets | Meets | check with the vendor | Meets | Meets | Not stated | check with the vendor | KS, MD, MO, PA |
Find your shortlist
Pick the state you are commissioned in and what you want the platform to keep for you. The count drops to the platforms that say so on their own pages and, in a list state, appear on that state's list.
Solo platforms that fit, for Colorado
6 of 12
Counted only if Colorado's approved list carries the platform. Read Colorado's list
- BlueNotary
Says journal entries and session records are kept "for at least 10 years from the date of the notarization" unless a state sets a longer period.
- SIGNiX
Its RON plans list "Video Storage (10 years)"; check the term with the vendor.
- NotaryCam
The independent-notary page lists a "10-year minimum video and notary journal retention"; check the term still applies when you sign.
- OneNotary
Its notary plans list "10 years storage of a session video"; check the term for your plan with the vendor.
- Online Notary Center
Lists "10 year video storage" with all notarizations; check that this covers your state's period.
- Proof
Says recordings and the journal are "managed and stored by Proof for your state's minimum record retention period".
Each platform, read against the rule
Each card quotes the vendor's own words on the four records questions, softened where the page was unclear; identity proofing and network rows are in the table above. A ten-year figure on a vendor page is the vendor's statement, not ours; confirm the term covers your state before you rely on it.
BlueNotary
A browser-based RON, IPEN and eClosing platform with a Notary Pro plan for independent notaries and an open-call network that passes BlueNotary-sourced signings to notaries.
A solo notary who wants to serve their own clients and also pick up platform-sourced open calls, with the journal and recordings kept by the platform.
- Independent notary can bring their own signers
- Meets
- Notary Pro users can invite their own signers and bill them outside BlueNotary.
- Recording retained for the state's period
- Meets
- Says journal entries and session records are kept "for at least 10 years from the date of the notarization" unless a state sets a longer period.
- Electronic journal kept by the platform
- Meets
- Keeps an electronic notary journal that the notary can export from the Journal section.
- Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
- Meets
- Says the notary's digital certificate (a .p12 file) is encrypted into every exported document, with PKI encryption.
- Approved-platform lists it appears on
- CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
NotaryLive
A RON platform that lets notaries serve their own clients on free RON software and, by invitation, take sessions from NotaryLive's general customer pool; it also sells eClose and IPEN for real estate.
A notary who wants to start serving their own clients online and may later be invited to take platform sessions.
- Independent notary can bring their own signers
- Meets
- Every notary level includes "RON software to notarize for your own customers".
- Recording retained for the state's period
- Not stated
- Lists "Online Storage of Session Records" but no retention period on the pages read; check with the vendor.
- Electronic journal kept by the platform
- check with the vendor
- No notary journal described on the vendor pages read; check with the vendor.
- Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
- check with the vendor
- Says it embeds security features into the document; the digital certificate is not described on the pages read. Check with the vendor.
- Approved-platform lists it appears on
- CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
SIGNiX
A cloud digital-signature company whose RON product (eNotaryDoX) gives a notary X.509 certificate signing, an eNotary journal, signer authentication and stored video.
A notary or title office that wants standards-based digital signatures and its own notaries in control of the session.
- Independent notary can bring their own signers
- Meets
- Sells RON plans per notary user, and its directory lists independent notary businesses that use it.
- Recording retained for the state's period
- Meets
- Its RON plans list "Video Storage (10 years)"; check the term with the vendor.
- Electronic journal kept by the platform
- Meets
- Its RON plans include an eNotary Journal.
- Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
- Meets
- Plans include an X.509 digital certificate; it says its standards-based digital signatures protect the document from tampering.
- Approved-platform lists it appears on
- CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
Snapdocs
A mortgage closing platform with three RON products (Snapdocs RON, Notary Connect and eClosing) and a free Notary Connect Network that passes mobile and RON signings to independent notaries.
A notary signing agent who wants loan-signing jobs from title companies and lenders, or a settlement office running RON, IPEN and mobile signings in one place.
- Independent notary can bring their own signers
- Meets
- Says notaries who want software for their own clients can use Snapdocs RON as a paid platform for RON, IPEN and eSign.
- Recording retained for the state's period
- Not stated
- No retention period on the pages read; check with the vendor.
- Electronic journal kept by the platform
- Not stated
- A platform journal is not described on the pages read; its notary FAQ lists an electronic journal among the tools a notary may need to obtain.
- Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
- check with the vendor
- Its notary FAQ says a RON notary's digital certificate from a provider must come from Proof, NotaryCam or Snapdocs RON; how Snapdocs RON issues or applies it is not described. Check with the vendor.
- Approved-platform lists it appears on
- CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
NotaryCam
A remote and in-person electronic notarization platform, backed by Stewart Title, that licenses its software to independent notaries and businesses and also runs its own contract notary service.
An independent notary who wants licensed RON software with long journal and video retention, or a notary looking for general or loan-signing work on a platform's own team.
- Independent notary can bring their own signers
- Meets
- Its software for independent notaries lets the notary schedule their own appointments and complete RON transactions for their own clients.
- Recording retained for the state's period
- Meets
- The independent-notary page lists a "10-year minimum video and notary journal retention"; check the term still applies when you sign.
- Electronic journal kept by the platform
- Meets
- Lists notary journal retention alongside video retention for licensed independent notaries.
- Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
- check with the vendor
- Asks independent notaries to provide a current digital certificate and a RON notary seal; how the certificate is applied is not described, check with the vendor.
- Approved-platform lists it appears on
- CO, KS, LA, MD, MO, NE, PA
OneNotary
A RON and IPEN platform with a free notary account for inviting your own clients, plus flat-rate general notary work assignments for approved notaries.
A solo notary who already holds a digital certificate and wants to invite their own clients, with the platform keeping the journal and video.
- Independent notary can bring their own signers
- Meets
- A free notary account lets the notary invite their own clients to a session.
- Recording retained for the state's period
- Meets
- Its notary plans list "10 years storage of a session video"; check the term for your plan with the vendor.
- Electronic journal kept by the platform
- Meets
- Lists an electronic journal as included for notaries.
- Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
- Meets
- The notary uploads their own digital certificate (it names IdenTrust) to digitally stamp notarizations; it does not support certificates issued by other RON providers.
- Approved-platform lists it appears on
- CO, KS, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
ProNotary
A browser-based RON workspace for independent notaries, signing services and businesses notarizing in-house; it says it provides no work or leads.
An independent notary or signing service that wants a private RON workspace for its own clients, with no platform marketing to those clients.
- Independent notary can bring their own signers
- Meets
- Says it is "a private workspace for your own notarizations", for an independent notary serving their own clients.
- Recording retained for the state's period
- Not stated
- Says transaction data is stored on the account's private dedicated server; no retention period on the page read. Check with the vendor.
- Electronic journal kept by the platform
- Meets
- Captures an electronic notary journal for every RON transaction, with export.
- Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
- check with the vendor
- Its plans include IdenTrust X.509 certificate vouchers; how the certificate is applied is not described. Check with the vendor.
- Approved-platform lists it appears on
- CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, PA
Online Notary Center
A RON, IPEN and eSign platform for notary businesses: the notary invites their own clients by link and passcode and bills them directly.
A solo notary who wants a simple RON setup with a free seal, a platform journal and long video storage.
- Independent notary can bring their own signers
- Meets
- The notary uploads documents and sends their own clients invitation links; "we bill you, you bill your clients".
- Recording retained for the state's period
- Meets
- Lists "10 year video storage" with all notarizations; check that this covers your state's period.
- Electronic journal kept by the platform
- Meets
- Gives onboarded notaries full access to an electronic journal.
- Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
- Meets
- Its Texas page has the notary buy an IdenTrust digital certificate, which attaches to the notarized document and makes it tamper-evident; it partners with IdenTrust and does not accept certificates from other vendors.
- Approved-platform lists it appears on
- CO, LA, MD, MO, NE, PA
Proof
An identity and online notarization platform (formerly Notarize) with its own on-demand Notarize Network and a separate account type for notaries who run their own RON business.
A notary in one of the states Proof lists for notary-sourced transactions who wants the platform to keep the journal and recordings, or who wants to join an on-demand network.
- Independent notary can bring their own signers
- Meets
- Notary-sourced transaction accounts let a notary send transactions to their own clients, in the states Proof lists; check your state is on that list.
- Recording retained for the state's period
- Meets
- Says recordings and the journal are "managed and stored by Proof for your state's minimum record retention period".
- Electronic journal kept by the platform
- Meets
- Keeps a notary journal on the platform; a separate help article covers exporting it.
- Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
- Meets
- Issues each notary a Proof Digital Certificate plus a free electronic seal; its title FAQ says it does not support certificates or seals bought from other vendors.
- Approved-platform lists it appears on
- CO, KS, MD, MO, NE, PA
Notary Hub
A RON platform (Everything Legal, powered by a360) where notaries subscribe, bring their own constituents and can accept new business requested through the site.
A notary who wants a subscription RON platform and also takes signings booked by consumers through its find-a-notary page.
- Independent notary can bring their own signers
- Meets
- Invites notaries to "bring your constituents" to its RON platform on a subscription.
- Recording retained for the state's period
- Not stated
- No retention period on the pages read.
- Electronic journal kept by the platform
- Not stated
- A notary journal is not described on the pages read.
- Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
- Meets
- The notary adds a digital document signing certificate; the finished PDF is digitally signed so later changes can be detected.
- Approved-platform lists it appears on
- KS, MD, MO, NE, PA
OnlineNotary.us
A RON platform that notaries can use for their own clients, or join its network to complete signings for its customers nationwide.
A notary who wants both a platform for their own clients and network signings from one provider.
- Independent notary can bring their own signers
- Meets
- Says notaries can "use our platform to notarize documents for your own clients".
- Recording retained for the state's period
- Not stated
- Says records must be kept "for a legally prescribed number of years" but gives no period of its own. Check with the vendor.
- Electronic journal kept by the platform
- check with the vendor
- Says each notarial act's records are kept in electronic form and backed up; a journal as such is not named. Check with the vendor.
- Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
- check with the vendor
- Describes the notary signing with a personal digital certificate and electronic seal in a way capable of independent verification; whether the platform issues the certificate is not stated.
- Approved-platform lists it appears on
- LA, MD, MO, PA
Secured Signing
A digital signature and RON platform with plans for individual notaries, in-house notaries, signing services and title companies, plus IPEN and an outsource notary queue.
An individual notary who wants the platform to issue the X.509 certificate and keep video and journal for up to ten years.
- Independent notary can bring their own signers
- Meets
- Sells RON to individual notaries to verify and notarize for their own clients.
- Recording retained for the state's period
- check with the vendor
- Says "We store the video for up to 10 years": a ceiling, not a minimum, where a state asks for at least ten. Ask the vendor to confirm the term in writing.
- Electronic journal kept by the platform
- Meets
- Keeps a digital journal, exportable to PDF or Excel and stored for up to 10 years.
- Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
- Meets
- Issues X.509 certificates (with IdenTrust Federal Bridge certificates where a state requires them) and calls its PKI signing tamper-evident.
- Approved-platform lists it appears on
- KS, MD, MO, PA
On the lists, but not built for a solo notary
These platforms sit on at least one state list, but their own pages do not say an independent notary can bring their own signers. Most are sold to a lender, a title office or a business that employs its notaries. If you sign for one of those, read RON and eClosing platforms for title and escrow or RON platforms for notary signing agents.
| Platform | Built for | Your own signers | Lists it is onLists |
|---|---|---|---|
| Blend Close | A notary closing loans for a lender that runs its mortgages on Blend; it is lender-side software, not a notary's own platform. | Not stated Sold to mortgage lenders; use by an independent notary for their own clients is not described. | CO, KS, MD, MO, NE, PA |
| Clear Sign (Rocket Close) | A notary signing agent closing Rocket Close mortgage files. | Not stated Built for Rocket Close's own mortgage closings; use for a notary's own clients is not described. | CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA |
| DocMagic eNotary (Total eClose) | A settlement or title notary closing loans for lenders that draw documents in DocMagic. | Not stated Sold to lenders and settlement service providers; use by an independent notary is not described. | CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO |
| Docusign Notary | A notary employed by a business that already sends agreements through Docusign eSignature. | check with the vendor Built for organizations to equip their in-house notaries; use by an independent notary for their own clients is not described. Check with the vendor. | CO, MD, MO, PA |
| Epic River eNotary | A notary employed by a bank or credit union that notarizes loan and deposit documents for its own customers. | check with the vendor The financial institution's in-house notaries serve its own customers; use by an independent notary is not described. | CO, KS, LA, MD, MO, NE, PA |
| Expedite (ICE, formerly DocVerify) | A notary at a settlement agent that closes ICE lender files; check which ICE product now carries the notary features. | Not stated Not described on the page read. | CO, KS, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA |
| OneSpan Notary | A notary employed by a bank, insurer, auto lender or law firm whose administrators onboard notaries centrally and who holds their own X.509 certificate. | check with the vendor Sold to organizations whose administrators onboard their notaries; use by an independent notary is not described. Check with the vendor. | KS, LA, MD, MO |
| PandaDoc Notary | A notary working inside a business that already prepares documents in PandaDoc, or one who wants X.509 signing included. | check with the vendor Lets a business bring its own notary staff; use by an independent notary for their own clients is not described on the pages read. | CO, KS, LA, MD, MO, PA |
| Pavaso | Check with the vendor; its own pages could not be read this run. | check with the vendor pavaso.com redirects to oldrepublictitle.com/pavaso, which did not load on ; nothing could be read from the vendor. Check with the vendor. | KS, LA, MD, MO, NE, PA |
| Qualia | A notary at a title or escrow company that already runs its files in Qualia. | check with the vendor Notary access runs under the title company's agreement with Qualia; use by an independent notary is not described. Check with the vendor. | KS, MD, MO, PA |
| Simplifile eSign Events (ICE) | A settlement-agent or title notary who already eRecords through Simplifile and closes lender or cash deals. | check with the vendor A settlement agent creates the event, adds signers and assigns a notary; use by an independent notary for their own clients is not described. | CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA |
| Stavvy | A title or settlement notary running hybrid or full eClosings for lenders. | check with the vendor Sold to title, settlement and lending businesses; use by an independent notary is not described. Check with the vendor. | CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA |
Before you sign up
Every platform above says something about these points on its own pages; few say all of it. Put the five questions to a vendor in writing before you pay, and keep the reply with your commission papers. The RON readiness checklist carries the rest of your setup, and how to start a remote notary business puts the platform in order with the bond, the invoice and the ledger.
How we compared
New to remote work? Start with how to become a remote online notary, then come back to this table.
Questions notaries ask
Can I use a RON platform for my own clients without taking the platform's signings?
Yes: on every platform in the table the vendor's own pages say an independent notary can serve their own clients. Some also run a network on the side, which you can ignore. ProNotary is the plain case: it says it does not provide work, leads or signing assignments. If network work is what you want, read RON platforms that send notaries signings.
Does the platform keep my journal and recording, or do I?
The duty is yours; the rule decides whether a platform may hold the records for you. Pennsylvania's rule, for example: The platform must keep the audio-visual recording for 10 years as designated by the remote notary, or let the notary download and keep it.
My state has no approved list. How do I choose?
You read the platform against your state's rule itself. Texas, for example: The Secretary of State keeps no approved provider list. On digital certificates: 'The secretary of state cannot recommend any third party providers to you.' On identity proofing: asked whether it has a list of approved providers, the SOS answers 'No.' The Texas comparison does that reading for you.
Can I use more than one RON platform?
Usually, but tell the state about each one. Pennsylvania: Before acting as a remote notary, notify the Department of State electronically at www.notaries.pa.gov and identify each technology you intend to use; repeat the notice when you add or drop a provider and at the start of each new commission. Maryland: Before the first remote act, notify the Secretary of State on the online remote notary form and name the authorized remote online notary vendor(s) you will use; tell the office within 10 business days of a vendor change and file a new form at each renewal.
Do I need my own digital certificate?
It depends on the platform and the state. Kansas: To use a RON platform a notary must obtain a digital certificate that verifies the notary's identity and makes the notarized document tamper evident; platforms may provide one or explain how to get one. Proof issues each notary a Proof Digital Certificate plus a free electronic seal; its title FAQ says it does not support certificates or seals bought from other vendors. On OneNotary, the notary uploads their own digital certificate (it names IdenTrust) to digitally stamp notarizations; it does not support certificates issued by other RON providers. Compare issuers in notary digital certificate providers.
Is a platform on my state's list automatically compliant?
No. The list is where you choose from; the rule still binds you. Louisiana says it plainly: A Louisiana notary must register with the Secretary of State for remote online notarization and select a remote notary technology provider, which the notary may pick from the Secretary's list and must verify personally.
Related
- RON vs IPEN: remote and in-person electronic notarizationThe two acts side by side: who is where, which software each needs, and which states approve platforms separately.
- Identity proofing in RON: credential analysis and KBAWhat the two checks are, what states require of each, and what the notary still decides.
- Remote ink notarization vs RONRemote ink-signed notarization and remote online notarization, from the notary's side of the call.
- MISMO RON standards for notariesThe mortgage industry's RON standards, and what they mean for a notary doing title and lender work.