RON technology providers on state lists: who sits on the most
Some states publish a list of the RON technology providers (the state's word is often “RON service provider”) their notaries may use. This page puts the providers against the 8 lists we have read in full, for a notary commissioned in one of those states or several, and every check opens the state's own list so you can confirm it yourself. The other platform comparisons, by the work you do, sit under RON platforms; each state's rules sit beside its list under state rules and approved lists.
Lists last checked
Best for a solo notary with commissions in several list states
On all 8 lists we read; it says you can invite your own signers while the platform keeps the journal and the recordings.
Best for title and settlement work across the list states
On all 8 lists we read; it is built for hybrid and full eClosings for title, settlement and lenders, and says it is MISMO certified.
Best if you want a network that sends you loan signings
On all 8 lists we read; notaries can join its Notary Connect Network for signing jobs from Snapdocs clients after screening and proof of insurance.
Fig. 1Providers against the state lists
Read a row to see where one provider can be used; read a column to see a state's list as our records match it. 7 providers sit on all 8 lists. Ticks count only entries for remote notarization: Pennsylvania's list also carries e-notary-only approvals and Kansas's IPEN-only ones, which the electronic notary software comparison covers.
Providers in our records on at least one list
24
Pick one or more states above to narrow the table.
The same lists, one state at a time, are in the state-approved platform finder.
The providers on all 8 lists
Being on every list says the states accepted the technology. It says nothing about who the platform is for, so each card reads the provider's own pages against what the rules ask of a platform. For a solo notary's view of the same field, see RON platforms for a solo notary; for closings, RON and eClosing platforms for title and escrow; for an office already on an e-signature suite, e-signature platforms with a notary feature.
BlueNotary
A browser-based RON, IPEN and eClosing platform with a Notary Pro plan for independent notaries and an open-call network that passes BlueNotary-sourced signings to notaries.
A solo notary who wants to serve their own clients and also pick up platform-sourced open calls, with the journal and recordings kept by the platform.
- Identity proofing: credential analysis + knowledge-based authentication
- Meets
- Offers knowledge-based authentication or biometrics plus ID analysis for signers; its help center names Persona as the ID-proofing partner. A notary can also choose to skip the flow, which the vendor warns to use only where local law allows.
- Audio-video session recorded
- Meets
- Says the platform preserves the audio-video session with the journal entry; recordings download from the Journal page.
- Recording retained for the state's period
- Meets
- Says journal entries and session records are kept "for at least 10 years from the date of the notarization" unless a state sets a longer period.
- Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
- Meets
- Says the notary's digital certificate (a .p12 file) is encrypted into every exported document, with PKI encryption.
- Independent notary can bring their own signers
- Meets
- Notary Pro users can invite their own signers and bill them outside BlueNotary.
- Supports eClosing / title workflows
- Meets
- Sells an eClosing product for buyers, sellers and lenders and says it is approved for eClosing by title underwriters.
- Approved-platform lists it appears on
- CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
Clear Sign (Rocket Close)
Rocket Close's mortgage eClosing platform (formerly Nexsys/Amrock Clear Sign) supporting hybrid closings, IPEN and RON for lenders, settlement agents and notaries.
A notary signing agent closing Rocket Close mortgage files.
- Identity proofing: credential analysis + knowledge-based authentication
- Not stated
- The ID-proofing method is not described on the page read; check with the vendor.
- Audio-video session recorded
- Not stated
- Session recording is not described on the page read; it lists a post-closing audit trail.
- Recording retained for the state's period
- Not stated
- No retention period on the page read; check with the vendor.
- Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
- Not stated
- Digital certificate or tamper-evident sealing is not described on the page read.
- Independent notary can bring their own signers
- Not stated
- Built for Rocket Close's own mortgage closings; use for a notary's own clients is not described.
- Supports eClosing / title workflows
- Meets
- Built as an eClosing platform for mortgage signings; it says leading underwriters and GSEs approve it.
- Approved-platform lists it appears on
- CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
NotaryLive
A RON platform that lets notaries serve their own clients on free RON software and, by invitation, take sessions from NotaryLive's general customer pool; it also sells eClose and IPEN for real estate.
A notary who wants to start serving their own clients online and may later be invited to take platform sessions.
- Identity proofing: credential analysis + knowledge-based authentication
- Meets
- Its API docs describe identity verification through ID scanning and knowledge-based authentication; check how the in-session flow works in your state with the vendor.
- Audio-video session recorded
- Meets
- Its API docs say a video recording of the session is made once a document is notarized.
- Recording retained for the state's period
- Not stated
- Lists "Online Storage of Session Records" but no retention period on the pages read; check with the vendor.
- Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
- check with the vendor
- Says it embeds security features into the document; the digital certificate is not described on the pages read. Check with the vendor.
- Independent notary can bring their own signers
- Meets
- Every notary level includes "RON software to notarize for your own customers".
- Supports eClosing / title workflows
- Meets
- Sells eClose, "a digital platform for real estate closings", to lenders and title.
- Approved-platform lists it appears on
- CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
SIGNiX
A cloud digital-signature company whose RON product (eNotaryDoX) gives a notary X.509 certificate signing, an eNotary journal, signer authentication and stored video.
A notary or title office that wants standards-based digital signatures and its own notaries in control of the session.
- Identity proofing: credential analysis + knowledge-based authentication
- Meets
- Offers knowledge-based authentication and identity document verification; credential analysis is listed in its title-agency plan.
- Audio-video session recorded
- Meets
- Lists video recording in its RON software; its plan FAQ says Zoom is integrated for the recording, optional, and other video platforms can be used.
- Recording retained for the state's period
- Meets
- Its RON plans list "Video Storage (10 years)"; check the term with the vendor.
- Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
- Meets
- Plans include an X.509 digital certificate; it says its standards-based digital signatures protect the document from tampering.
- Independent notary can bring their own signers
- Meets
- Sells RON plans per notary user, and its directory lists independent notary businesses that use it.
- Supports eClosing / title workflows
- Meets
- Sells RON to title agencies so they can run closings with their own notaries.
- Approved-platform lists it appears on
- CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
Simplifile eSign Events (ICE)
ICE Mortgage Technology's digital closing tool in which a notary runs hybrid, IPEN and RON signing events, with county-level eNotary eligibility data from Simplifile eRecording.
A settlement-agent or title notary who already eRecords through Simplifile and closes lender or cash deals.
- Identity proofing: credential analysis + knowledge-based authentication
- check with the vendor
- Its eNotary FAQ says RON requires an identity verification process; the method it uses is not described on the pages read. Check with the vendor.
- Audio-video session recorded
- Meets
- Says RON video recording and storage are built in.
- Recording retained for the state's period
- Not stated
- No retention period on the pages read; check with the vendor.
- Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
- Not stated
- Digital certificate or tamper-evident sealing is not described on the pages read.
- Independent notary can bring their own signers
- check with the vendor
- A settlement agent creates the event, adds signers and assigns a notary; use by an independent notary for their own clients is not described.
- Supports eClosing / title workflows
- Meets
- A digital closing platform for agent-driven (cash and seller) and lender-driven transactions; it says it is a MISMO RON certified provider.
- Approved-platform lists it appears on
- CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
Snapdocs
A mortgage closing platform with three RON products (Snapdocs RON, Notary Connect and eClosing) and a free Notary Connect Network that passes mobile and RON signings to independent notaries.
A notary signing agent who wants loan-signing jobs from title companies and lenders, or a settlement office running RON, IPEN and mobile signings in one place.
- Identity proofing: credential analysis + knowledge-based authentication
- Meets
- Signers pass knowledge-based authentication and show a US government ID on camera; it also lists automated IDV and biometrics.
- Audio-video session recorded
- Meets
- Companies can download video recordings of their RON and IPEN signings.
- Recording retained for the state's period
- Not stated
- No retention period on the pages read; check with the vendor.
- Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
- check with the vendor
- Its notary FAQ says a RON notary's digital certificate from a provider must come from Proof, NotaryCam or Snapdocs RON; how Snapdocs RON issues or applies it is not described. Check with the vendor.
- Independent notary can bring their own signers
- Meets
- Says notaries who want software for their own clients can use Snapdocs RON as a paid platform for RON, IPEN and eSign.
- Supports eClosing / title workflows
- Meets
- Sells eClosing to lenders and connects lenders with title branches on one platform.
- Approved-platform lists it appears on
- CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
Stavvy
A digital mortgage and real estate closing platform with RON, IPEN, eSign, eNote and eVault tools for lenders, title and settlement agents.
A title or settlement notary running hybrid or full eClosings for lenders.
- Identity proofing: credential analysis + knowledge-based authentication
- Meets
- Identifies signers with multi-factor, knowledge-based authentication; credential analysis is not named on the page read.
- Audio-video session recorded
- Meets
- Keeps video recordings of remote notarization sessions.
- Recording retained for the state's period
- Not stated
- No retention period on the pages read; check with the vendor.
- Tamper-evident technology / digital certificate under the notary's sole control
- Meets
- Uses digital certificates and tamper seals on closing documents.
- Independent notary can bring their own signers
- check with the vendor
- Sold to title, settlement and lending businesses; use by an independent notary is not described. Check with the vendor.
- Supports eClosing / title workflows
- Meets
- Built for hybrid and full eClosings for title, settlement and lenders; it says it is MISMO certified.
- Approved-platform lists it appears on
- CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
The lists themselves
Each state names its list in its own words, and only some print a date. The count is the entries that cover remote notarization, including names our records do not match.
| State | The list, in the state's words | Date printed on it | Remote entries | We read it |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Colorado | Remote Notarization Providers | none printed | 20 | |
| Kansas | RON/IPEN Provider List | Rev 6.3.2026 | 30 | |
| Louisiana | Remote Notary Approved Vendor List | none printed | 19 | |
| Maine | Approved Providers of Technology | Rev. 9/2026 | 12 | |
| Maryland | List of Authorized Remote Online Notary (RON) Vendors | none printed | 36 | |
| Missouri | Approved Notary Software Vendors | none printed | 31 | |
| Nebraska | Approved Online Notary Solution Providers | none printed | 20 | |
| Pennsylvania | Electronic Notarization and Remote Notarization Technology Providers | UPDATED: April 30, 2026 | 28 |
What each state asks of you
A provider on the list is necessary, not enough. Each state adds a step on the notary's side before the first remote act, and the step differs.
- CO
- A Colorado remote notary must select at least one remote notarization system provider approved by the Secretary of State and confirm the provider has Active status before each remote notarization. The rule
- KS
- A Kansas notary must choose a RON platform provider on file with the Secretary of State and obtain a digital certificate that verifies the notary's identity and makes the notarized document tamper evident. The rule
- LA
- A Louisiana notary must register with the Secretary of State for remote online notarization and select a remote notary technology provider, which the notary may pick from the Secretary's list and must verify personally. The rule
- ME
- A Maine notarial officer must use communication technology from a provider approved by the Secretary of State and named in a notice the Secretary has accepted before the first remote notarization. The rule
- MD
- A Maryland notary who performs remote notarial acts through a vendor must notify the Secretary of State and name an authorized remote online notary vendor before the first remote act. The rule
- MO
- A Missouri notary must register with the Secretary of State and select approved software before performing remote online notarial acts; only platforms used for remote notarization need approval. The rule
- NE
- A Nebraska online notary must hold a separate online notary registration and set up the online seal through an approved online notary solution provider. The rule
- PA
- A Pennsylvania remote notary must use a remote notarization technology provider approved by the Department of State and must notify the Department of each technology before using it. The rule
Names that differ on the lists
Platforms get renamed and bought, and the lists keep the legal name the provider filed under. If you search a state's list for the brand you know and find nothing, look for these.
| Provider | Name the state's list prints |
|---|---|
| Clear Sign (Rocket Close) |
|
| Simplifile eSign Events (ICE) |
|
| Expedite (ICE, formerly DocVerify) |
|
| PandaDoc Notary |
|
| Proof |
|
| Notary Hub |
|
Names on the lists outside our records
These entries cover remote notarization but match no vendor record of ours: some sites would not load, some sell another product today, and some we have not read yet. They are on the lists all the same, so check them with the state and the company.
- CO
- 2 of 20: D.S. Minnich and Son's Ranch L.L.C.; NotaryPro Technologies USA Inc
- KS
- 9 of 30: Cyberize It, LLC; Digital Delivery, Inc.; eNotaryLog LLC; eNotary On Call Inc; Evolve Mortgage Services LLC; Notarize Genie, Inc.; Notaron; NotaryPro Technologies USA Inc; USA Notary Services LLC
- LA
- 3 of 19: CYBERIZEIT.COM; Smart eNotary; eNotary On Call Inc.
- ME
- 1 of 12: NotaryPro Technologies USA Inc.
- MD
- 12 of 36: Authxperts, LLC; Cyberize It, LLC; CYBERSYGN; Digital Delivery, Inc.; E-Notary Seal, LLC; eNotaryLog, LLC; GoCertificates.com, Inc.; KYS-Tech, Inc.; Notary Launchpad (aka ATX Courier & Notary, LLC); POPi/o Mobile Video Cloud, LLC; Simply Sign LLC; USA Notary Service, LLC
- MO
- 6 of 31: eNotaryLog, LLC; Digital Delivery, Inc.; Simply Sign, LLC; KYS-Tech Inc; E-Notary Seal, LLC; Eltropy
- NE
- 4 of 20: Digital Delivery, Inc.; E-Notary Seal, LLC; Eltropy, Inc.; eNotaryLog, LLC
- PA
- 6 of 28: Safedocs Inc.; SimplySecureSign; KYS-Tech; Digital Delivery, Inc.; GoCertificates.com, Inc.; POPi/o
States without a list
Not every state that allows remote notarization publishes a list. Two we read for this page show the other ways a state can handle it.
- TX
- Texas sets the standard instead: an X.509, PKI digital certificate from a third party that makes any later change to the document evident. The Secretary of State says it “cannot recommend a provider”. Our Texas comparison reads platforms against that rule, and the digital certificate comparison covers who issues one.
- OR
- Oregon names “some commonly used vendors”, sets apart the ones that only allow real estate transactions, and says plainly: “This is not a complete list.” It adds that providers meeting the MISMO RON standards also meet its requirements. That is a starting point, not an approval list, so Oregon is not a column here. Oregon's vendor page
Florida, Washington and Virginia, each compared on its own page, work without an approval list too. Florida publishes the yearly self-certifications its providers file (RON platforms for Florida notaries); Washington and Virginia set the standard in rule and leave the choice to the notary (Washington, Virginia).
Questions notaries ask
What is a RON technology provider?
It is the company whose software runs the remote session: the identity check, the audio-video call and its recording, the signing and the tamper-evident seal on the finished document. States name them differently on their lists: technology providers, vendors, providers of technology, system providers or solution providers. The notary is still the one performing the act.
Can I use a platform that is not on my state's list?
In 7 of the 8 list states we read, the rule ties your remote acts to a provider the state has approved, authorized or holds on file, so a platform off the list is not an option there. Louisiana is the exception: its list is a registry you may choose from, and the notary must verify any provider. In a state with no list, such as Texas, you read the platform against the state's rule yourself.
If a provider is on every list, can notaries from every state use it?
No. A list covers only the state that keeps it, and a provider may onboard notaries from some states and not others. Proof, for one, offers its accounts for notaries' own clients only in the states it names. Ask the provider about your commission state before you sign up.
How often do the lists change?
Whenever a state approves, renews or drops a provider. Maine prints an approval period beside each provider, Missouri prints each approval's start date, and Kansas prints a revision date (Rev 6.3.2026). We read all 8 lists on the date shown above the table; open your state's list before a first act with a new provider.
Why is a platform I use missing from the table?
The table shows the 24 providers in our records that sit on at least one list, out of 38 vendors we have read. Other names on the lists belong to companies whose own sites would not load, that sell no notary platform today, or that we have not read yet; the section on names lists them per state. Other states that may publish lists (Florida, Iowa, Indiana, Michigan, Wisconsin, Montana and Ohio) blocked our reading, so they are not columns yet.
Do I have to tell my state which platform I use?
In several list states, yes. Pennsylvania wants the Department of State notified of each technology before you use it, Maryland wants the authorized vendor named before your first remote act, and Maine wants a notice the Secretary has accepted. Missouri and Louisiana require registration, and Colorado asks you to confirm the provider's Active status before each remote notarization.
Related
- State-approved RON platform finderPick a state that publishes a list and see the platforms on it, as the state writes them.
- RON platforms for a solo notary, comparedFor an independent notary: own signers, a journal and recording kept for your state's period, and the state lists each is on.
- Using more than one RON platformWhether a notary may work on several platforms, and the notice each state asks for per technology.
- How to become a remote online notaryThe common path from commission to first remote act, each step linked to its state page.
- Electronic notary software (RON and in-person electronic), comparedWhich tools cover remote acts, in-person electronic acts or both, and what each leaves the notary to bring.