Nebraska's approved online notary solution providers
A Nebraska notary who wants to notarize remotely registers as an online notary public with the Secretary of State and then works on a provider the Secretary has approved. The state keeps that approval on two separate PDFs on its notary public page: 20 providers for online acts, and 11 for in-person electronic acts, where the signer is in the room. Only the first list counts for a remote session. Neither PDF prints a date, so below is each list as we read it, matched to the providers we have compared. The other states we read are under state rules and approved lists.
Last checked
Fig. 1The online list: 20 providers
Approved Online Notary Solution Providers is a one-page PDF: company name, street address and a contact email for each filer, no type column, no approval dates and no printed date. Every name on it is approved for remote acts, so the count is the whole list. Two things trip notaries up when they search it. E-Notary Seal, LLC is printed twice; we count it once. And ICE's product is filed under Expedite, the product our record names Expedite (ICE, formerly DocVerify), so a search for DocVerify finds nothing.
| Platform, as the list writes it | Our comparison |
|---|---|
| Blend Labs, Inc. | Read the comparison |
| Blue Notary LLC | Read the comparison |
| Digital Delivery, Inc. | Not compared yet |
| E-Notary Seal, LLC | Not compared yet |
| Eltropy, Inc. | Not compared yet |
| eNotaryLog, LLC | Not compared yet |
| Epic River Healthcare, Inc. | Read the comparison |
| Everything Legal, LLC | Read the comparison |
| Expedite | Read the comparison |
| Guardian Consumer Services, INC DBA PAVASO | Read the comparison |
| NotaryCam, Inc | Read the comparison |
| NotaryLive | Read the comparison |
| OneNotary | Read the comparison |
| Online Notary Center, Inc. | Read the comparison |
| Proof Platform | Read the comparison |
| Rocket Close, LLC | Read the comparison |
| SIGNiX | Read the comparison |
| Simplifile | Read the comparison |
| Snapdocs | Read the comparison |
| Stavvy, Inc. | Read the comparison |
To see the same providers against the other states that publish a list, use the state-approved platform finder or the providers-against-every-list comparison.
The separate in-person electronic list
Nebraska keeps a second PDF, Approved In-Person Electronic Notary Solution Providers, with 11 names. It is for a different act: in the Secretary of State's words, an electronic notarization “still requires the principal and electronic notary public to be in the physical presence of each other during the entire electronic notarization.” A provider applies for each list separately, so being on one says nothing about the other. Missouri goes further: its list approves remote platforms only. If the difference between the two acts is new to you, RON vs IPEN sets it out.
| Platform, as the list writes it | Our comparison |
|---|---|
| CSC Global | Not compared yet |
| E-Notary Seal, LLC | Not compared yet |
| Epic River Healthcare, Inc. | Read the comparison |
| EscrowTab | Not compared yet |
| Expedite- | Read the comparison |
| Guardian Consumer Services, Inc DBA PAVASO | Read the comparison |
| OneNotary | Read the comparison |
| Rocket Close, LLC | Read the comparison |
| Simplifile | Read the comparison |
| Snapdocs | Read the comparison |
| Stavvy, Inc. | Read the comparison |
On one list or both
9 providers sit on both lists, 11 are approved for online acts only and 2 for in-person electronic acts only. If you want one account for a remote closing on Monday and a signer at your table on Tuesday, start with the first group. The electronic notary software comparison reads how those tools handle both kinds of act.
Nebraska's two lists, matched by company
- On both lists9
The company is approved for both kinds of act; ask whether one account covers both.
E-Notary Seal, LLC; Epic River Healthcare, Inc.; Expedite; Guardian Consumer Services, INC DBA PAVASO; OneNotary; Rocket Close, LLC; Simplifile; Snapdocs; Stavvy, Inc.
- Online list only11
Approved for remote acts; not listed for in-person electronic acts.
Blend Labs, Inc.; Blue Notary LLC; Digital Delivery, Inc.; Eltropy, Inc.; eNotaryLog, LLC; Everything Legal, LLC; NotaryCam, Inc; NotaryLive; Online Notary Center, Inc.; Proof Platform; SIGNiX
- In-person list only2
Not approved for a remote session in Nebraska.
CSC Global; EscrowTab
Lists read . A name printed differently on the two lists (“INC” and “Inc”) is one company.
Which listed providers take your own signers
The online list mixes two kinds of product. Some are platforms an independent notary signs up for and invites their own clients to; others are closing systems sold to lenders, title companies and banks, where the institution decides which notary works its sessions. By the providers' own pages, 9 of the 20 names let you bring your own signers. For a solo practice start with RON platforms for a solo notary; for closings, RON and eClosing platforms for title and escrow.
| On the online list | Your own signersOwn signers | What the provider's own pages say |
|---|---|---|
| Blend Labs, Inc.Blend Close | Not stated | Sold to mortgage lenders; use by an independent notary for their own clients is not described. read |
| Blue Notary LLCBlueNotary | Meets | Notary Pro users can invite their own signers and bill them outside BlueNotary. read |
| Digital Delivery, Inc. | check with the vendor | Not in our records yet; ask the company who its product is for. |
| E-Notary Seal, LLC | check with the vendor | Not in our records yet; ask the company who its product is for. |
| Eltropy, Inc. | check with the vendor | Not in our records yet; ask the company who its product is for. |
| eNotaryLog, LLC | check with the vendor | Not in our records yet; ask the company who its product is for. |
| Epic River Healthcare, Inc.Epic River eNotary | check with the vendor | The financial institution's in-house notaries serve its own customers; use by an independent notary is not described. read |
| Everything Legal, LLCNotary Hub | Meets | Invites notaries to "bring your constituents" to its RON platform on a subscription. read |
| ExpediteExpedite (ICE, formerly DocVerify) | Not stated | Not described on the page read. read |
| Guardian Consumer Services, INC DBA PAVASOPavaso | check with the vendor | pavaso.com redirects to oldrepublictitle.com/pavaso, which did not load on ; nothing could be read from the vendor. Check with the vendor. read |
| NotaryCam, IncNotaryCam | Meets | Its software for independent notaries lets the notary schedule their own appointments and complete RON transactions for their own clients. read |
| NotaryLive | Meets | Every notary level includes "RON software to notarize for your own customers". read |
| OneNotary | Meets | A free notary account lets the notary invite their own clients to a session. read |
| Online Notary Center, Inc.Online Notary Center | Meets | The notary uploads documents and sends their own clients invitation links; "we bill you, you bill your clients". read |
| Proof PlatformProof | Meets | Notary-sourced transaction accounts let a notary send transactions to their own clients, in the states Proof lists; check your state is on that list. read |
| Rocket Close, LLCClear Sign (Rocket Close) | Not stated | Built for Rocket Close's own mortgage closings; use for a notary's own clients is not described. read |
| SIGNiX | Meets | Sells RON plans per notary user, and its directory lists independent notary businesses that use it. read |
| SimplifileSimplifile eSign Events (ICE) | check with the vendor | A settlement agent creates the event, adds signers and assigns a notary; use by an independent notary for their own clients is not described. read |
| Snapdocs | Meets | Says notaries who want software for their own clients can use Snapdocs RON as a paid platform for RON, IPEN and eSign. read |
| Stavvy, Inc.Stavvy | check with the vendor | Sold to title, settlement and lending businesses; use by an independent notary is not described. Check with the vendor. read |
Two registrations, two fees
A Nebraska commission lets you notarize on paper. Remote acts and in-person electronic acts are each a registration added on top, with its own course, exam, fee and seal wording, and each ends the same way: you download an approval letter from the Secretary of State's portal and give it to your provider, which sets up your seal. The full path from commission to first session is in how to become a remote online notary, and the exam set beside other states' training rules in remote online notary training by state.
| Step | Online notary | In-person electronic notary |
|---|---|---|
| The signer is | Remote: not in your physical presence, on audio-video | In your physical presence for the whole act; the document, signature and seal are electronic |
| Before you apply | A valid Nebraska commission (you may apply alongside your first commission) | The same: a valid Nebraska commission |
| Course | The Secretary of State's online notary course | The Secretary of State's in-person electronic notary course |
| Exam | 20 questions, 85% to pass, 3 attempts, score good for 90 days | A separate exam on the same terms: 20 questions, 85%, 3 attempts, 90 days |
| Filing fee | $50 | $100 |
| Where you file | An amendment in the Secretary of State's online portal | A separate amendment in the same portal |
| What you get | An approval letter (no certificate any more), which you give to your approved provider | An approval letter, which you give to your approved provider |
| Your seal shows | State of Nebraska; Online Notary Public; your identifying number; your name as commissioned; the commission expiration date | State of Nebraska; Electronic Notary Public; your name as commissioned; the commission expiration date (the steps list no identifying number) |
The rules your online sessions run under
A general Nebraska notary may keep a journal or not; the Secretary of State only recommends one. An online notary has no such choice: every online act needs an electronic record, recording included, plus a backup copy. The identity check is fixed in the rules too; identity proofing in RON explains how credential analysis and the quiz work in practice, and electronic notary seal requirements sets Nebraska's seal beside other states'.
- Remote notarization authorized
Nebraska's Online Notary Public Act lets a registered online notary public notarize a document remotely, without the principal in the notary's physical presence.
- How a notary gets RON authority
Hold a Nebraska notary commission, pass the online notary course and exam, then file the Online Notary Public application in the Secretary of State's portal with the $50 filing fee; the approval letter goes to your solution provider to authorize your account.
- Training or exam
Complete the Secretary of State's online notary training course and pass a 20-question exam with at least 85% (three attempts; the passing score is valid for 90 days).
- Session recording kept for
The record of each online notarial act, which includes the audio-video recording, must be kept for 10 years.
- Electronic journal
The notary must create and keep an electronic record of each online notarial act, with a backup copy.
- Journal kept for
Keep the records for 10 years; the provider must let the notary download them.
- Journal entry fields
Date and time; type of act; type, title or description of the document; printed name and address of each principal; evidence of identity; the audio-video recording (without images of the documents); the fee, if any.
- Identity proofing
Automated credential analysis of the ID plus an identity-proofing quiz of at least 5 questions, 5 choices each, 80% to pass, within two minutes, one retake within 24 hours.
- Digital certificate and e-seal
The electronic signature and online notary seal must be under the notary's sole control; the seal carries a border, the name as commissioned, identifying number, expiration date, "Online Notary Public" and "Nebraska".
- Certificate wording
The online certificate must carry the online notary's electronic signature, seal, title and commission expiration date, the date and place of the act, and completed acknowledgment, jurat, verification or oath wording.
The act also has a fee section and a section on where the principal may be (Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 64-411, 64-412). We could not load the Legislature's statute text when we read the lists, so read those two sections there before you set a price or take a signer who is outside Nebraska.
What the state checked before listing a provider
A provider gets on the online list by filing an application, passing the same course and exam you take, and then running a live demonstration for the Secretary of State's office against a published checklist. Most of that checklist is about the platform. These items are about you.
- § 010.01(E)–(F)
The provider sees your registration and confirms it with the Secretary of State's office before it authorizes you.
Have the approval letter ready when you sign up; a provider that opens your account without asking for it has skipped a step the state checks.
- § 010.01(G)
A subscription longer than the time left on your commission must be prorated to that time.
Commission ending in eight months? Ask for an eight-month price, not a full year.
- § 010.01(A)
Every party gets a free reader or viewer for the notarized document.
Your signer pays nothing to open what you sealed.
- § 010.05
If any party leaves before the act is complete, a new transaction must be started.
A dropped call is not paused: you start a new session, and that session is the act you record.
- § 012
Each signer's signature can be notarized separately when a document has more than one signer.
Two borrowers on one deed are two acts, each with its own record.
- § 010.01(H)
The provider can suspend a notary whose registration is cancelled.
Let your registration lapse or be cancelled and the platform can lock your account.
- § 64-409(3); § 015.01
The provider need not keep your records for the full period, but must let you download them, including after you stop using it.
The 10 years duty is yours. Download each session and keep the backup copy the statute asks for.
- § 011
The provider tells the office of changes to its application within 45 days, and before it ships a new version to Nebraska notaries.
The office expects to hear of a new version before you get it; if a release changes how your seal or record looks, ask whether it was filed.
Questions notaries ask
Can I run remote sessions on a provider that is only on the in-person electronic list?
No. The in-person list approves a provider for acts where the signer is in the room with you. For a remote act the provider must be on the online list. As we read the lists, CSC Global and EscrowTab are on the in-person list only.
Older guides name DocVerify. Is it still approved?
Both Nebraska lists carry Expedite, the ICE product our vendor record names Expedite (ICE, formerly DocVerify). Search the PDF for the name the filer uses today, not the brand you remember.
I am already an online notary. Do I need a second registration to sign electronically in person?
Yes. The in-person electronic registration is its own course, exam and filing ($100 against $50), and its seal reads "Electronic Notary Public" where the online seal reads "Online Notary Public".
My commission ends in a few months. Can a provider bill me for a full year?
The Secretary of State's checklist for listing a provider says a subscription longer than the time left on your commission must be prorated to that time. Ask for the prorated price before you sign.
Who keeps the session recordings, me or the platform?
You do. Nebraska puts the record of each online act, recording included, on the notary for 10 years. A provider does not have to hold it that long, but it must let you download your records. The recording retention date calculator works out the last day for each session.
What happens if I fail the online notary exam three times?
The Secretary of State's steps say a notary who does not pass after three attempts is no longer eligible to be an electronic notary public in Nebraska. Work through the course, the statutes and the rules before the first attempt.
Why does this page show a date the list itself does not print?
Neither Nebraska list prints a date. The date here is the day we read both PDFs; the Secretary of State can add or remove a provider at any time, so open the list itself before you choose.
Related
- State-approved RON platform finderPick a state that publishes a list and see the platforms on it, as the state writes them.
- RON technology providers on state lists: who sits on the mostOne table of providers against the state lists, dated, each linked to the state's own list.
- RON vs IPEN: remote and in-person electronic notarizationThe two acts side by side: who is where, which software each needs, and which states approve platforms separately.
- Electronic notary software (RON and in-person electronic), comparedWhich tools cover remote acts, in-person electronic acts or both, and what each leaves the notary to bring.
- How to become a remote online notaryThe common path from commission to first remote act, each step linked to its state page.