Pennsylvania's approved e-notary and RON technology providers
Pennsylvania keeps one list for two approvals. The Department of State approves technology for in-person electronic notarization (e-notary) and, separately, for remote notarization (RON), and a remote notary may use only a provider approved for remote. Before your first remote act you notify the Department at notaries.pa.gov and name each technology you will use. The Department's own list governs; this page is our reading of it. The other states we read are under state rules and approved lists.
Last checked , against the list marked UPDATED: April 30, 2026
Fig. 1The list, split by approval
The list carries 34 providers. 28 are approved for remote notarization: 14 for both e-notary and remote, 14 for remote only. The other 6 are approved for in-person e-notary only, so they belong in a reading of RON against in-person electronic notarization, not on your shortlist for remote work; the electronic notary software comparison reads both kinds of tool, and suites that bolt a notary onto e-signature are in e-signature platforms with a notary feature. The Department prints its entries in the order it approved them, with an approval date under each column, and some carry the brand you know only in brackets.
| Platform, as the list writes it | Approved for, as the list's columns read | Our comparison |
|---|---|---|
| Expedite (formerly known as DocVerify) | e-notary, RON | Read the comparison |
| Safedocs Inc. | e-notary, RON | Not compared yet |
| ICE Mortgage Technology f/k/a Simplifile | e-notary, RON | Read the comparison |
| Pavaso | e-notary, RON | Read the comparison |
| DocuSign, Inc. | e-notary, RON | Read the comparison |
| SimplySecureSign | e-notary, RON | Not compared yet |
| Rocket Close, LLC/Clear Sign | e-notary, RON | Read the comparison |
| Proof (formerly Notarize) | RON | Read the comparison |
| NotaryCam | e-notary, RON | Read the comparison |
| SIGNiX | e-notary, RON | Read the comparison |
| OnlineNotary.us | RON | Read the comparison |
| KYS-Tech | RON | Not compared yet |
| Digital Delivery, Inc. | e-notary, RON | Not compared yet |
| OneNotary.US | RON | Read the comparison |
| PandaDoc (formerly LiveNotary) | RON | Read the comparison |
| Stavvy, Inc. | e-notary, RON | Read the comparison |
| Secured Signing Inc. | e-notary, RON | Read the comparison |
| Notary@EpicRiver | e-notary, RON | Read the comparison |
| Blend Labs, Inc. | RON | Read the comparison |
| GoCertificates.com, Inc. | RON | Not compared yet |
| Qualia Labs, Inc. | RON | Read the comparison |
| Blue Notary | RON | Read the comparison |
| POPi/o | RON | Not compared yet |
| SnapDocs (formerly Pactima Inc.) | RON | Read the comparison |
| Notary Hub | RON | Read the comparison |
| NotaryLive Inc | e-notary, RON | Read the comparison |
| Online Notary Center | RON | Read the comparison |
| Pro Notary LLC (ProNotary) | RON | Read the comparison |
The same list beside seven other states' is in state-approved RON platforms, and one state at a time in the state-approved platform finder.
When the providers were approved
Pennsylvania approved e-notary technology for a decade before remote was possible: the first entries date from June 17, 2010, and the first remote dates are the three marked “per waiver” on March 25, 2020, when remote notarization began temporarily. Most remote approvals came in 2020 and 2021; the newest entry on the list dates from December 12, 2024. A late date says nothing about quality, only when the provider applied.
Approvals by year, as the list dates them
remote (RON) in-person e-notary
- 2010
- RON 0e-notary 4
- 2011
- RON 0e-notary 1
- 2017
- RON 0e-notary 1
- 2018
- RON 0e-notary 1
- 2019
- RON 0e-notary 1
- 2020
- RON 11e-notary 6
- 2021
- RON 8e-notary 5
- 2022
- RON 4e-notary 0
- 2023
- RON 2e-notary 0
- 2024
- RON 3e-notary 1
The list's warning about journals
Approval covers the session technology, not the journal the platform may keep for you. Pennsylvania's rule for an electronic journal is specific: entries numbered from the first to the last, no full ID numbers or dates of birth, and the journal stays your property in your custody. A platform built for several states can miss any of these. Put the platform through the 12 items below before you treat its journal as yours, and keep a journal of your own until it passes. The journal requirements by state show how far Pennsylvania sits from its neighbours.
Pennsylvania electronic journal check, juratkit.com
Tick an item once the platform has confirmed it, ideally in writing. Nothing you type leaves this page.
Items the platform has confirmed
0 of 12
12 still open. Until they are answered, keep your own journal alongside the platform's.
From 4 Pa. Code chapter 167, read .
What the remote-approved providers say about a journal
We have read the pages of 22 of the 28 remote entries: 12 say they keep a journal on the platform, 6 do not mention one on the pages we read, and 4 leave it unclear. “Says it keeps one” is the vendor's claim, not a finding that the journal meets the items above. For standalone journals that you control, see the electronic notary journal comparison.
| On the list as | Platform journal | What its pages say |
|---|---|---|
| Blue Notary | Says it keeps one | Keeps an electronic notary journal that the notary can export from the Journal section.The vendor's page, read |
| DocuSign, Inc. | Says it keeps one | The session audit trail includes an electronic journal.The vendor's page, read |
| ICE Mortgage Technology f/k/a Simplifile | Says it keeps one | Lists a post-closing process with a notary journal.The vendor's page, read |
| NotaryCam | Says it keeps one | Lists notary journal retention alongside video retention for licensed independent notaries.The vendor's page, read |
| OneNotary.US | Says it keeps one | Lists an electronic journal as included for notaries.The vendor's page, read |
| Online Notary Center | Says it keeps one | Gives onboarded notaries full access to an electronic journal.The vendor's page, read |
| PandaDoc (formerly LiveNotary) | Says it keeps one | Includes electronic journaling with session recordings.The vendor's page, read |
| Pro Notary LLC (ProNotary) | Says it keeps one | Captures an electronic notary journal for every RON transaction, with export.The vendor's page, read |
| Proof (formerly Notarize) | Says it keeps one | Keeps a notary journal on the platform; a separate help article covers exporting it.The vendor's page, read |
| Qualia Labs, Inc. | Says it keeps one | Stores the notary's electronic notarial journal and supports export of entries and recordings.The vendor's page, read |
| Secured Signing Inc. | Says it keeps one | Keeps a digital journal, exportable to PDF or Excel and stored for up to 10 years.The vendor's page, read |
| SIGNiX | Says it keeps one | Its RON plans include an eNotary Journal.The vendor's page, read |
| NotaryLive Inc | check with the vendor | No notary journal described on the vendor pages read; check with the vendor.The vendor's page, read |
| OnlineNotary.us | check with the vendor | Says each notarial act's records are kept in electronic form and backed up; a journal as such is not named. Check with the vendor.The vendor's page, read |
| Pavaso | check with the vendor | pavaso.com redirects to oldrepublictitle.com/pavaso, which did not load on ; nothing could be read from the vendor. Check with the vendor.The vendor's page, read |
| Stavvy, Inc. | check with the vendor | Its IPEN page lists electronic notary journals; a RON journal is not described on the RON page. Check with the vendor.The vendor's page, read |
| Blend Labs, Inc. | Not stated | Not described on the page read; check with the vendor.The vendor's page, read |
| Expedite (formerly known as DocVerify) | Not stated | Not described on the page read.The vendor's page, read |
| Notary Hub | Not stated | A notary journal is not described on the pages read.The vendor's page, read |
| Notary@EpicRiver | Not stated | Not described on the page read; check with the vendor.The vendor's page, read |
| Rocket Close, LLC/Clear Sign | Not stated | A notary journal is not described on the page read.The vendor's page, read |
| SnapDocs (formerly Pactima Inc.) | Not stated | A platform journal is not described on the pages read; its notary FAQ lists an electronic journal among the tools a notary may need to obtain.The vendor's page, read |
Not read by us yet: Safedocs Inc.; SimplySecureSign; KYS-Tech; Digital Delivery, Inc.; GoCertificates.com, Inc.; POPi/o. They are on the list all the same; ask them the same questions.
Putting a provider on your commission
In Pennsylvania the Department sits between you and the provider. You do not just sign up on a platform: the Bureau authorizes you, you pick providers on the state's site, and the provider reports back before the Department's database shows you as able to act. The steps repeat at the start of each four-year commission, and the notice is given again whenever you add or drop a provider. Your approval lasts until the commission ends or the provider's technology expires, whichever comes first, and a second provider is a second notice (using more than one RON platform). For what to have ready before step one, use the RON readiness checklist; the same path for every state on file is in how to become a remote online notary.
- 01
You
With a current, unrestricted Pennsylvania commission, file the electronic/remote notary application at notaries.pa.gov. The same form serves electronic and remote notaries.
- 02
The Bureau
Approves the application by email, for the rest of your four-year commission. The email says "electronic notarization" even when you asked for remote.
- 03
You
Back on notaries.pa.gov, select one or more providers from the approved list. This is where you identify each technology you intend to use.
- 04
The Bureau
Tells each provider you chose that you are authorized and have selected it.
- 05
You and the provider
Set up the account and pay the provider directly. The Department charges no fee for the notice.
- 06
The provider
Reports to the Department that it has issued you the technology. Only then does your record show "e-notary capable", the Department's term for electronic, remote or both.
From the Department's steps to becoming an electronic or remote notary, last revised 2020-04-20, read 2026-10-22.
Pennsylvania's rules for a remote notary
What the statute and 4 Pa. Code chapter 167 ask of you once a provider is in place, each with its source. The10 years recording period is the one to plan storage around; the recording retention date calculator works out the date for a session, recording retention by state shows who may hold it, and the fees by state guide sets Pennsylvania's remote fee beside other states'. The Department's schedule, with the technology fee on top, is built into the notary invoice template and the session fee ledger, which flag a line above the cap. For a signer abroad, read the rows below with remote signers outside the US.
- Remote notarization authorized
Pennsylvania notaries may notarize for a remotely located individual using communication technology; Act 97 of 2020 made remote online notarization permanent, effective October 29, 2020.
- How a notary gets RON authority
Before acting as a remote notary, notify the Department of State electronically at www.notaries.pa.gov and identify each technology you intend to use; repeat the notice when you add or drop a provider and at the start of each new commission.
4 Pa. Code § 167.81 read
- Training or exam
No extra course or exam for remote notarization. Every notary completes the Department-approved basic or continuing education course (at least three hours), and a new applicant must pass the notary exam.
- Session recording kept for
The platform must keep the audio-visual recording for 10 years as designated by the remote notary, or let the notary download and keep it.
- Electronic journal
A journal is required for every notarial act. An electronic journal must be tamper evident: no inserted, removed or substituted entries, consecutive numbering, securely stored and recoverable, and available as a PDF on request.
- Journal kept for
Within 30 days of resignation or expiration of the commission (unless the notary renews), the journal is delivered to the Recorder of Deeds in the county where the notary last kept an office.
- Journal entry fields
Date and time; description of the record and type of act; full name and address of each individual; how identity was established and any ID with issue and expiration dates; the fee charged. No personally identifiable data such as full ID numbers.
- Identity proofing
Identify the remote signer by personal knowledge, a credible witness, or at least two identity-proofing processes or services (for example credential analysis, dynamic knowledge-based authentication, biometrics).
- Digital certificate and e-seal
The technology must let anyone inspecting the electronic record detect tampering with the certificate, and must carry the official stamp information as part of, or securely attached to, the record. No digital-certificate type is named in the rule.
- Fee for a remote act
On top of the per-act notarial fee (for example $5 per acknowledgment), a remote notary may charge up to $20 per notarial act performed using communication technology, with an itemized receipt.
- Where the signer may be
The notary must be in Pennsylvania. The signer may be in Pennsylvania, another state or U.S. territory, or abroad; abroad, the record must relate to a U.S. court or agency, U.S. property or a transaction substantially connected with the U.S., and the act must not be prohibited where the signer is.
57 Pa.C.S. § 306.1 read
- Certificate wording
The certificate must disclose that communication technology was used; the statement "This notarial act involved the use of communication technology." satisfies this.
Questions notaries ask
Can I hold a remote session on a provider listed only for e-notary?
No. A remote notary must use a remote notarization technology provider approved by the Department (4 Pa. Code § 167.82). The six entries approved only for e-notary are approved for in-person electronic notarization, where the signer stands in front of you.
Can I notarize over Zoom, Skype or FaceTime?
Not with those alone. The Department's general information on remote notarization says Skype, Zoom and FaceTime alone are not acceptable remote notarization technologies; the session has to run on an approved provider's technology, which handles identity proofing, the recording and the tamper-evident record.
I can't find DocVerify or Notarize on the list. Are they gone?
The main entries carry the current names: "Expedite (formerly known as DocVerify)" and "Proof (formerly Notarize)". The alphabetical index on the list's last page still says DocVerify, so search the main pages for the new name.
Do I tell the Department when I add or drop a platform?
Yes. The notice that names your technology has to be given again with the addition or deletion of each provider during your commission, and again at the start of each new commission (4 Pa. Code § 167.81(3)). Select the change at notaries.pa.gov before your first act on the new platform.
What does "per waiver" mean beside a date on the list?
Three entries carry a remote approval date of March 25, 2020 marked "per waiver". The Department dates the start of remote notarization in Pennsylvania to that day, temporarily and for limited transactions; Act 97 of 2020 made it permanent from October 29, 2020. Those providers are on the current list like any other entry.
Is the platform's journal enough on its own?
Only if it meets 4 Pa. Code § 167.34 and the entry rules in § 167.32, and the Department's own list warns that many providers' journals may not be fully compliant. Check it item by item with the checklist above, and keep your own journal until it passes. Our electronic notary journal comparison covers standalone journals; the notary journal template prints Pennsylvania's columns, and the journal entry check flags a full ID number.
What happens to my journal and recordings if a provider shuts down?
A provider that stops offering its technology must tell the Department and every notary who used it in the preceding 10 years, at least 60 days ahead, with instructions for exporting the journals and the audio-visual recordings made on it (4 Pa. Code § 167.88(b)). Export when that notice comes, not on the last day.
How long must the session recording be kept?
10 years. The platform must keep the audio-visual recording for 10 years as designated by the remote notary, or let the notary download and keep it. (4 Pa. Code § 167.86(6))
Related
- State-approved RON platform finderPick a state that publishes a list and see the platforms on it, as the state writes them.
- RON technology providers on state lists: who sits on the mostOne table of providers against the state lists, dated, each linked to the state's own list.
- Electronic notary journals, comparedStandalone e-journals and platform journals, read against the entry fields states require and whether entries export.
- Notary journal requirements by stateWhich states require a journal, what an entry for a remote act must hold, and how long it is kept.
- RON vs IPEN: remote and in-person electronic notarizationThe two acts side by side: who is where, which software each needs, and which states approve platforms separately.