Skip to content
Juratkit
Menu

RON platforms for Florida notaries, compared

For a Florida online notary choosing a RON service provider: what chapter 117 asks of the platform, which platforms say on their own pages that they serve Florida notaries, and when each last filed its yearly self-certification with the Department of State. Florida does not approve platforms; it publishes who has self-certified, and when. Other states' rules and lists are under state rules and approved lists.

Table and Florida list last checked

Best for a Florida notary with their own signers

OneNotary lists Florida on its sign-up page, lets you invite your own clients, keeps an electronic journal, and its latest filing on Florida's self-certification list is less than a year old.

OneNotary

Best if you want Florida signings sent to you

Proof's help center says on-demand work is live for Florida commissions, the same account serves your own clients, and its latest filing on Florida's self-certification list is less than a year old.

Proof

Best for a title office with its own notaries

SIGNiX sells RON to title agencies that close with their own notaries, with a certificate and journal on its plans, and its latest filing on Florida's self-certification list is less than a year old.

SIGNiX

Art Deco illustration of a ring light behind a laptop with a webcam, a journal in frontFig. 1
In Florida the platform keeps the recording and files with the state; the journal and the registration stay with you.

What Florida asks of the platform

Florida writes duties for the RON service provider itself into the statute, beside the notary's own. These are the provider's obligations; the comparison below reads each platform's own pages against the ones a vendor can show you. For the identity checks in depth, see identity proofing in RON; for the recording itself, RON session recording requirements.

Self-certify every year

File a self-certification with the Department of State (Form DS-DOC-51) confirming its technology, services and data storage meet chapter 117 and the Department's rules. Each filing stays active for one year from the filing date, and the Department publishes the filings with their dates.

§ 117.295(4)(a), Fla. Stat.; R. 1N-7.005(2) read

Identity proofing and credential analysis

Personal knowledge, or remote presentation of a government ID, credential analysis of it, and identity proofing (knowledge-based authentication or another conforming method). Minimum KBA: five or more questions with five answer choices, answered within 2 minutes, 80% correct, one more attempt allowed with no more than three repeat questions. If any step fails, the notarization may not go ahead.

§§ 117.265(4), 117.295(3)(a)-(b), Fla. Stat. read

Keep the recording

The RON service provider keeps an uninterrupted, unedited copy of the audio-video recording; recordings are kept at least 10 years after the notarial act. The provider may delegate keeping the recordings to a secure repository by contract (and the notary may do the same for the journal), each with notice to the Department within 30 days.

§ 117.245(2), (4), Fla. Stat. read

A secure, clear session

The audio-video signal must be reasonably secure from interception, with enough audio clarity and video resolution for the notary to talk with the signer and any witness and confirm who they are.

§§ 117.265(6), 117.295(3)(c), Fla. Stat. read

Tamper-evident technology

Use technology that makes any later change to the electronic record evident; that alone satisfies the tamper-evident requirement for a provider.

§ 117.295(4)(b), Fla. Stat.; R. 1N-7.001(9) read

Its own errors and omissions cover

Carry errors and omissions insurance of at least $250,000 in the annual aggregate for errors in its technology or processes. This is the provider's policy, separate from the notary's own.

§ 117.295(5), Fla. Stat. read

Give access to recordings

Give the parties, a title or settlement agent on the deal, the Department and the notary access to the recording on request. It may charge up to $20, but not to those people within the retention period (10 years), and must disclose any fee first.

§ 117.255(2)-(3), Fla. Stat. read

Not sell signers' data

Not use, sell or transfer personal information about a signer, witness or person named in a record, except for the purposes the statute lists (performing the act, fraud checks, a lawful demand, improving the service, a sale of the business).

§ 117.295(8), Fla. Stat. read

Florida's list is self-certification

Florida does not approve RON platforms. Under the statute, every RON service provider files a self-certification with the Department of State saying its technology, identity proofing and storage meet chapter 117, and the Department publishes the filings with their dates on its RON service provider list. A name on the list is the vendor's word, filed with the state; it is not the state's verdict.

“Each certification shall remain active for a period of 1 year after the date of filing.”

§ 117.295(4)(a), Fla. Stat. read

That one sentence is what makes the list useful to you. On the list held 122 filings under 91 different spellings of provider names, because it keeps every year's filing and companies file under trade names, legal names and old names. Only 23 of those filings were less than a year old. So the question to ask of a platform is not “is it on the list?” but “when did it last file?”

Pre-filled with one provider. Try a short part of the name: providers file under several spellings.

Latest filing under a matching name

2025-12-05

Still inside its one-year term on the date we read the list. 4 filings match.

  • Stavvy, Inc.2025-12-05 (in term)
  • Stavvy, Inc.2025-01-03
  • Stavvy, Inc.2024-01-10
  • STAVVY INC.2023-01-05

The comparison table

The 9 platforms below each name Florida on their own pages. The rows are what Florida's statute asks of the platform, in its words. A check means the vendor's own page says it; an em dash means the page we read does not mention it; “check with the vendor” means the page is unclear. The last column is the other states' approved lists, from state-approved RON platforms.

9 RON platforms whose own pages name Florida, read against Florida's provider duties on .
PlatformID proofingSession recordedRecording keptTamper-evidentJournalOwn signersState lists
OneNotaryMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsCO, KS, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
ProofMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsCO, KS, MD, MO, NE, PA
SIGNiXMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsCO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
BlueNotaryMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsCO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
NotaryLiveMeetsMeetsNot statedcheck with the vendorcheck with the vendorMeetsCO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
NotaryCamMeetsMeetsMeetscheck with the vendorMeetsMeetsCO, KS, LA, MD, MO, NE, PA
Online Notary CenterMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsMeetsCO, LA, MD, MO, NE, PA
Clear Sign (Rocket Close)Not statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedCO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
Simplifile eSign Events (ICE)check with the vendorMeetsNot statedNot statedMeetscheck with the vendorCO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA

When each platform last filed

Of these 9 platforms, 5 had a filing on Florida's list that was less than a year old on the day we read it. The others had not filed in the past year under any name we matched.

Florida self-certification filings for the 9 compared platforms, list read .
PlatformFiled asLatest filingIn termIts own page on FloridaOther state lists
OneNotaryONENOTARY; ONENOTARY, INC.; One Notary; OneNotary, Inc.In termNames FloridaCO, KS, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
ProofNOTARIZE, INC.; NOTARIZE.COM; Notarize, Inc.; Notarize, Inc. d/b/a Proof.com; Notarize.com; Proof.comIn termNames FloridaCO, KS, MD, MO, NE, PA
SIGNiXSIGNIX, INC.; SIGNIX, Inc.In termNames FloridaCO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
BlueNotaryBLUENOTARY; Blue Notary; BlueNotaryTerm ended Names FloridaCO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
NotaryLiveNotaryLiveTerm ended Names FloridaCO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
NotaryCamNOTARYCAM, INC.Term ended Names FloridaCO, KS, LA, MD, MO, NE, PA
Online Notary CenterOnline Notary CenterTerm ended Names FloridaCO, LA, MD, MO, NE, PA
Clear Sign (Rocket Close)AMROCK, LLC/ CLEAR SIGN; Amrock, LLC/Clear Sign; Clear Sign; Rocket Close, LLCIn termNames FloridaCO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
Simplifile eSign Events (ICE)Simplifile, LCIn termNames FloridaCO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA

Each platform, read against Florida's rule

Each card quotes the vendor's own words, softened where the page was unclear, and closes with where the vendor names Florida. Florida puts the recording duty on the provider itself, so a storage term printed on a vendor page is worth having in your contract as well. If you serve your own clients, read this beside RON platforms for a solo notary.

OneNotary

A RON and IPEN platform with a free notary account for inviting your own clients, plus flat-rate general notary work assignments for approved notaries.

A solo notary who already holds a digital certificate and wants to invite their own clients, with the platform keeping the journal and video. In Florida, its sign-up page lists Florida among the commission states a notary can choose.

Credential analysis and KBA identity proofing
Meets
Says identity proofing (KBA) and credential analysis are included; signers answer identity questions and photograph their ID, through its partner IDology.
Records the whole audio-video session
Meets
Says "the session is recorded and stored in your electronic journal".
Keeps the recording 10 years
Meets
Its notary plans list "10 years storage of a session video"; check the term for your plan with the vendor.
Tamper-evident signature and seal
Meets
The notary uploads their own digital certificate (it names IdenTrust) to digitally stamp notarizations; it does not support certificates issued by other RON providers.
Hosts your electronic journal
Meets
Lists an electronic journal as included for notaries.
You can bring your own signers
Meets
A free notary account lets the notary invite their own clients to a session.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA

OneNotary's own site

Proof

An identity and online notarization platform (formerly Notarize) with its own on-demand Notarize Network and a separate account type for notaries who run their own RON business.

A notary in one of the states Proof lists for notary-sourced transactions who wants the platform to keep the journal and recordings, or who wants to join an on-demand network. In Florida, its help center says on-demand notary work is live for Florida commissions, and lists Florida for notary-sourced transactions.

Credential analysis and KBA identity proofing
Meets
Its notary-business help page lists knowledge-based authentication and credential analysis built into the platform.
Records the whole audio-video session
Meets
Lists "end-to-end session recordings" for notary-sourced transactions.
Keeps the recording 10 years
Meets
Says recordings and the journal are "managed and stored by Proof for your state's minimum record retention period".
Tamper-evident signature and seal
Meets
Issues each notary a Proof Digital Certificate plus a free electronic seal; its title FAQ says it does not support certificates or seals bought from other vendors.
Hosts your electronic journal
Meets
Keeps a notary journal on the platform; a separate help article covers exporting it.
You can bring your own signers
Meets
Notary-sourced transaction accounts let a notary send transactions to their own clients, in the states Proof lists; check your state is on that list.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, MD, MO, NE, PA

Proof's own site

SIGNiX

A cloud digital-signature company whose RON product (eNotaryDoX) gives a notary X.509 certificate signing, an eNotary journal, signer authentication and stored video.

A notary or title office that wants standards-based digital signatures and its own notaries in control of the session. In Florida, the notary directory on its RON page lists notaries commissioned in Florida.

Credential analysis and KBA identity proofing
Meets
Offers knowledge-based authentication and identity document verification; credential analysis is listed in its title-agency plan.
Records the whole audio-video session
Meets
Lists video recording in its RON software; its plan FAQ says Zoom is integrated for the recording, optional, and other video platforms can be used.
Keeps the recording 10 years
Meets
Its RON plans list "Video Storage (10 years)"; check the term with the vendor.
Tamper-evident signature and seal
Meets
Plans include an X.509 digital certificate; it says its standards-based digital signatures protect the document from tampering.
Hosts your electronic journal
Meets
Its RON plans include an eNotary Journal.
You can bring your own signers
Meets
Sells RON plans per notary user, and its directory lists independent notary businesses that use it.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA

SIGNiX's own site

BlueNotary

A browser-based RON, IPEN and eClosing platform with a Notary Pro plan for independent notaries and an open-call network that passes BlueNotary-sourced signings to notaries.

A solo notary who wants to serve their own clients and also pick up platform-sourced open calls, with the journal and recordings kept by the platform. In Florida, its help center covers accounts for a Florida commission and gives open-call notaries a script for Florida estate-planning sessions.

Credential analysis and KBA identity proofing
Meets
Offers knowledge-based authentication or biometrics plus ID analysis for signers; its help center names Persona as the ID-proofing partner. A notary can also choose to skip the flow, which the vendor warns to use only where local law allows.
Records the whole audio-video session
Meets
Says the platform preserves the audio-video session with the journal entry; recordings download from the Journal page.
Keeps the recording 10 years
Meets
Says journal entries and session records are kept "for at least 10 years from the date of the notarization" unless a state sets a longer period.
Tamper-evident signature and seal
Meets
Says the notary's digital certificate (a .p12 file) is encrypted into every exported document, with PKI encryption.
Hosts your electronic journal
Meets
Keeps an electronic notary journal that the notary can export from the Journal section.
You can bring your own signers
Meets
Notary Pro users can invite their own signers and bill them outside BlueNotary.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA

BlueNotary's own site

NotaryLive

A RON platform that lets notaries serve their own clients on free RON software and, by invitation, take sessions from NotaryLive's general customer pool; it also sells eClose and IPEN for real estate.

A notary who wants to start serving their own clients online and may later be invited to take platform sessions. In Florida, its become-a-notary page lists FL among the states where it is onboarding notaries.

Credential analysis and KBA identity proofing
Meets
Its API docs describe identity verification through ID scanning and knowledge-based authentication; check how the in-session flow works in your state with the vendor.
Records the whole audio-video session
Meets
Its API docs say a video recording of the session is made once a document is notarized.
Keeps the recording 10 years
Not stated
Lists "Online Storage of Session Records" but no retention period on the pages read; check with the vendor.
Tamper-evident signature and seal
check with the vendor
Says it embeds security features into the document; the digital certificate is not described on the pages read. Check with the vendor.
Hosts your electronic journal
check with the vendor
No notary journal described on the vendor pages read; check with the vendor.
You can bring your own signers
Meets
Every notary level includes "RON software to notarize for your own customers".
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA

NotaryLive's own site

NotaryCam

A remote and in-person electronic notarization platform, backed by Stewart Title, that licenses its software to independent notaries and businesses and also runs its own contract notary service.

An independent notary who wants licensed RON software with long journal and video retention, or a notary looking for general or loan-signing work on a platform's own team. In Florida, its site carries a case study of a client using NotaryCam to meet Florida's RON law.

Credential analysis and KBA identity proofing
Meets
Its RON page says the signer's identity is verified with knowledge-based authentication and credential analysis.
Records the whole audio-video session
Meets
Its licensing page lists video and screen recording of every session.
Keeps the recording 10 years
Meets
The independent-notary page lists a "10-year minimum video and notary journal retention"; check the term still applies when you sign.
Tamper-evident signature and seal
check with the vendor
Asks independent notaries to provide a current digital certificate and a RON notary seal; how the certificate is applied is not described, check with the vendor.
Hosts your electronic journal
Meets
Lists notary journal retention alongside video retention for licensed independent notaries.
You can bring your own signers
Meets
Its software for independent notaries lets the notary schedule their own appointments and complete RON transactions for their own clients.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, LA, MD, MO, NE, PA

NotaryCam's own site

Online Notary Center

A RON, IPEN and eSign platform for notary businesses: the notary invites their own clients by link and passcode and bills them directly.

A solo notary who wants a simple RON setup with a free seal, a platform journal and long video storage. In Florida, its notaries page lists Florida among its state information pages.

Credential analysis and KBA identity proofing
Meets
Analyzes signers' photo IDs and asks knowledge-based questions; the notary also checks the ID visually.
Records the whole audio-video session
Meets
Every notarization includes video storage.
Keeps the recording 10 years
Meets
Lists "10 year video storage" with all notarizations; check that this covers your state's period.
Tamper-evident signature and seal
Meets
Its Texas page has the notary buy an IdenTrust digital certificate, which attaches to the notarized document and makes it tamper-evident; it partners with IdenTrust and does not accept certificates from other vendors.
Hosts your electronic journal
Meets
Gives onboarded notaries full access to an electronic journal.
You can bring your own signers
Meets
The notary uploads documents and sends their own clients invitation links; "we bill you, you bill your clients".
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, LA, MD, MO, NE, PA

Online Notary Center's own site

Clear Sign (Rocket Close)

Rocket Close's mortgage eClosing platform (formerly Nexsys/Amrock Clear Sign) supporting hybrid closings, IPEN and RON for lenders, settlement agents and notaries.

A notary signing agent closing Rocket Close mortgage files. In Florida, its Clear Sign page lists Florida under RON and hybrid coverage.

Credential analysis and KBA identity proofing
Not stated
The ID-proofing method is not described on the page read; check with the vendor.
Records the whole audio-video session
Not stated
Session recording is not described on the page read; it lists a post-closing audit trail.
Keeps the recording 10 years
Not stated
No retention period on the page read; check with the vendor.
Tamper-evident signature and seal
Not stated
Digital certificate or tamper-evident sealing is not described on the page read.
Hosts your electronic journal
Not stated
A notary journal is not described on the page read.
You can bring your own signers
Not stated
Built for Rocket Close's own mortgage closings; use for a notary's own clients is not described.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA

Clear Sign (Rocket Close)'s own site

Simplifile eSign Events (ICE)

ICE Mortgage Technology's digital closing tool in which a notary runs hybrid, IPEN and RON signing events, with county-level eNotary eligibility data from Simplifile eRecording.

A settlement-agent or title notary who already eRecords through Simplifile and closes lender or cash deals. In Florida, its eSign Events page lists Florida as a state where RON is available.

Credential analysis and KBA identity proofing
check with the vendor
Its eNotary FAQ says RON requires an identity verification process; the method it uses is not described on the pages read. Check with the vendor.
Records the whole audio-video session
Meets
Says RON video recording and storage are built in.
Keeps the recording 10 years
Not stated
No retention period on the pages read; check with the vendor.
Tamper-evident signature and seal
Not stated
Digital certificate or tamper-evident sealing is not described on the pages read.
Hosts your electronic journal
Meets
Lists a post-closing process with a notary journal.
You can bring your own signers
check with the vendor
A settlement agent creates the event, adds signers and assigns a notary; use by an independent notary for their own clients is not described.
Approved-platform lists it appears on
CO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA

Simplifile eSign Events (ICE)'s own site

On Florida's list, Florida not named

These platforms have filed with Florida, but the pages of theirs we read do not say they serve Florida notaries. Most are lender, title or e-signature systems a notary uses through an employer. If you sign for a title office, read RON and eClosing platforms for title and escrow; if you want work sent to you, RON platforms that send notaries signings.

14 platforms from our vendor files that appear on Florida's list, newest filing first, read .
PlatformFiled asLatest filingIn termServes Florida notariesOther state lists
Docusign NotaryDOCUSIGN; Docusign Inc.; Docusign, Inc.In termcheck with the vendorCO, MD, MO, PA
SnapdocsSnapdocs (f.k.a. Pactima); Snapdocs Technologies LLCIn termcheck with the vendorCO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
Blend CloseBLEND SIGNING ROOM; Blend Signing RoomIn termcheck with the vendorCO, KS, MD, MO, NE, PA
DocMagic eNotary (Total eClose)DocMagic, Inc.In termcheck with the vendorCO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO
StavvySTAVVY INC.; Stavvy, Inc.In termcheck with the vendorCO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
Expedite (ICE, formerly DocVerify)Expedite; DOCVERIFY; DocVerify; DOCVERIFY, INC. (WWW.DOCVERIFY.COM)In termcheck with the vendorCO, KS, MD, ME, MO, NE, PA
Notary HubNotaryHub.com by Everything Legal; NotaryHub.com by EverythingLegalTerm ended check with the vendorKS, MD, MO, NE, PA
Secured SigningSECURED SIGNING; Secured Signing Inc.; SECURED SIGNING, LLCTerm ended check with the vendorKS, MD, MO, PA
OneSpan NotaryOne Span North America Inc.Term ended check with the vendorKS, LA, MD, MO
PavasoGUARDIAN CONSUMER SERVICES, INC (DBA PAVASO, INC.); PavasoTerm ended check with the vendorKS, LA, MD, MO, NE, PA
OnlineNotary.usOnlineNotary.usTerm ended check with the vendorLA, MD, MO, PA
ProNotaryProNotaryTerm ended check with the vendorCO, KS, LA, MD, ME, MO, PA
QualiaQUALIA LABS, INCTerm ended check with the vendorKS, MD, MO, PA
PandaDoc NotaryPANDADOC, INC.Term ended check with the vendorCO, KS, LA, MD, MO, PA

What stays with you

The platform carries the recording, the identity checks and its own filing. The registration, the bond and insurance, the journal and the certificate stay with you, whichever platform you pick. These are Florida's rules for the online notary, read from the statute and rule chapter; the full walk-through is in Florida online notary requirements.

How a notary gets RON authority

Register with the Department of State: hold a current commission, certify a completed RON course, pay the registration fee ($10 per Rule 1N-7.001), file a sworn registration, name the RON service provider(s) you will use (Form DS-DOC-50), and show a $25,000 bond and $25,000 errors and omissions insurance. Tell the Department within 30 days if you change RON service provider.

§§ 117.225, 117.265(5)⁠(b), Fla. Stat.; Fla. Admin. Code R. 1N-7.001, 1N-7.005 read

Training or exam

A 2-hour in-person or online course on the duties, obligations and technology requirements of an online notary, from the Florida Land Title Association, the Florida Bar RPPTL Section, the Florida Legal Education Association, the Department of State or a Department-approved vendor.

§§ 117.225(2), 117.295(6), Fla. Stat. read

Journal kept for

At least 10 years after the date of the notarial act.

§ 117.245(4), Fla. Stat. read

Digital certificate and e-seal

Attach or logically associate your electronic signature and seal using tamper-evident technology capable of independent verification. The electronic signature must carry the seal information: full commissioned name, 'Notary Public State of Florida', commission expiration date and commission number. The statute sections read do not name a certificate standard such as X.509.

§§ 117.021(2)-(3), 117.255(1)⁠(c), Fla. Stat.; R. 1N-7.001(7) read

Certificate wording

The certificate must note that the notarization is an online notarization, which can be met by placing 'online notary' in or next to the seal. The statutory forms read 'by means of ☐ physical presence or ☐ online notarization'.

§§ 117.05(4)⁠(c), 117.05(13), 117.265(7), Fla. Stat. read

Where the signer may be

The online notary must be physically in Florida; the principal and witnesses may be anywhere. For a principal outside Florida, confirm (verbally or in writing) that they want a Florida notary under Florida law. A principal outside the United States may use a foreign passport as ID.

§§ 117.201(6), 117.209(3), 117.265(1), (3), Fla. Stat. read

Fee for a remote act

Up to $25 per online notarial act. Fees for other services, including the RON service provider's, are not governed by this cap and may be charged separately.

§ 117.275, Fla. Stat. read

Your own errors and omissions policy (the amount is in the registration row above) is separate from the provider's cover; see notary E&O insurance for remote notaries for policies that say they cover online acts.

Who chooses the platform

Florida leaves the choice of platform to you. The statute says the online notary selects the RON service provider and no one may require a particular one, with one exception: if your contract or employer requires you to perform online notarizations, it may name the platform for those sessions. A title office can put its staff notaries on its own eClosing system. Outside such a contract or job, no one can make you use a particular platform.

You may use more than one provider. Each one you use is named on your registration, the Department publishes which providers each online notary used and when, and every change is reported within 30 days. Running two platforms means two places your recordings live, so keep a note in your journal of which platform held each session; using more than one RON platform covers the records side.

How we compared

Not registered yet? Start with how to become a remote online notary, or compare Florida with the states that keep no list at all: Texas, Virginia and Washington.

Questions notaries ask

Does Florida approve RON platforms?

No. Each RON service provider files a self-certification with the Department of State, and the Department publishes the filings with their dates. The Department says it does not recommend or endorse any third-party vendor. A name on the list is the vendor's own statement, filed with the state.

How long does a provider's self-certification last?

One year from the date of filing, under section 117.295(4)(a). Providers refile each year, which is why the list shows several filings for the same company. Read the latest date, not the name.

My platform's latest filing on the list is more than a year old. What do I do?

Ask the provider for its current self-certification and the name it filed under. The list can lag, and companies file under trade names and legal names. If the provider cannot show a current filing, weigh that before you run Florida sessions on it, and record any switch with the Department within 30 days.

Can a title company or my employer make me use its platform?

Only for the online notarizations your contract or employer requires of you. Otherwise Florida law leaves the choice of RON service provider to the online notary, and no one may require a particular one.

Can I use more than one RON platform in Florida?

Yes. Your registration names the provider or providers you use, and you tell the Department within 30 days when you add, change or drop one. Keep track of which platform holds each session's recording; see using more than one RON platform.

Who keeps the session recording, me or the platform?

The RON service provider keeps an uninterrupted, unedited copy, for 10 years after the act; it may hand that duty to a secure repository with notice to the Department. Your electronic journal is your own duty, kept for the same period, with a backup. The recording retention date calculator works out the date, and recording retention by state sets Florida's period beside every other state we have on file.

What can I charge for a Florida online notarization?

Up to $25 per online notarial act. Fees for other services, including the RON service provider's, are not governed by this cap and may be charged separately.

Do my signers have to be in Florida?

The online notary must be physically in Florida; the principal and witnesses may be anywhere. For a principal outside Florida, confirm (verbally or in writing) that they want a Florida notary under Florida law. A principal outside the United States may use a foreign passport as ID.